|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Schindler's Ark

A book released 1994 by Thomas Keneally

< read all 6 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Jul 4, 2010
"Schindler's Ark" was a heartbreaking experience for me. I read this book as research and preparation for my review of Spielberg's film and I was already fairly familiar with the history of the Holocaust, but even I was unprepared for how emotionally devastating this book was. A powerful, stark, enlightening read that offers as much hope to its readers as it offers insight into the atrocities of the Nazis.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
July 09, 2010
This sounds like a very important read for those studying the Holocaust. I will have to see if I can find a copy.
July 09, 2010
I'd be happy to send you mine, though you could probably find it a used book store. Normally, I hold onto my books, but in spite of how powerful and well-written this is, I've no desire to read it again. Too overwhelming...
July 12, 2010
Hm, that might be easier for me. I'm sure sending you some cash for the shipping would be cheaper than buying the book myself. Do you use paypal?
July 13, 2010
No need. Just send me your address via e-mail.
July 13, 2010
Are you sure? I know funds are tight right now for us all...I don't want you wasting money on the shipping costs. Sending you my address next.
July 14, 2010
Shipping costs I can handle. : )
July 15, 2010
(laughs) Cools! :)
July 15, 2010
I'll try and have it off sometime next week.
July 16, 2010
Ok, no rush. I don't know if you've noticed...but I am so behind in my reading and reviews! (sniffles)
July 16, 2010
You have mentioned it once or twice... ; )
July 17, 2010
Yeah...cause I'm so ashamed! Darn me for being too busy. :-P
July 17, 2010
Consider yourself darned like a pair of socks. ; )
July 17, 2010
Oh, that was a terrible wordplay! Now, I'm ashamed!
July 18, 2010
LOL! That was pretty funny wordplay. I enjoyed it. :)
July 18, 2010
I'm still ashamed. LOL!
July 19, 2010
I won't tell anyone. :)
July 19, 2010
It's out in the open, silly.
July 19, 2010
Doesn't mean everyone is following every sentence we write. Plus, it collapses the responses once you've been talking for as long as we have. So, people would have to be REALLY interested in our conversation to discover what the heck this all refers to. :)
July 19, 2010
LOL! That's only because you love reading everything I write...right? Ruined my whole theory, Aerin. ;)
July 19, 2010
See! LOL! Someone is.
July 19, 2010
Bah humbug! :-P
July 19, 2010
Don't be a grump just because you were wrong. ; )
July 19, 2010
I'm a grump because I'm sick, not because I'm wrong. And, I'm usually wrong. :)
July 19, 2010
Oh, you're still not feeling any better? Sorry to hear that. Get some rest and load up on antioxidants.
July 19, 2010
So you agree that was a terrible wordplay then? Good, at least it wasn't just me. By the way, how do you have so much free time on your hands that you can go through these ludicrous dialogues between me and my pals? LOL!
July 19, 2010
@Count_Orlok_22: Nope...I slept a long time too...I think like 13+ hours. I'm sure oversleeping didn't help. >.>

@AerinBlue: You crack me up, girlie! I love that about you. :)
July 19, 2010
You get my message?
July 19, 2010
LOL!
July 19, 2010
@Count_Orlok_22: Yes I did, and I'm responding now. Doesn't look like we will get to chat much this week.

@AerinBlue: You know you will...we are just that entertaining that you must look; it's like eating a bag of chocolates even though it's so bad for you! LOL. ;)
July 20, 2010
It's not that bad if it's pure cocoa dark chocolate.
July 20, 2010
I love dark chocolate! My favorite. :)
July 20, 2010
It's the only kind I'll eat... except for M&Ms. =D
July 21, 2010
I love anything dark chocolate. I've tolerated some milk chocolate candies, but definitely not my preference. M&Ms are ok, lol. I prefer the dark chocolate versions when I do eat them. :)
July 21, 2010
As do I, but the milk chocolate ones aren't bad in cookies. One of my personal favorites is Werther's Dark Chocolate and Caramel candies. I'm not very fond of candy, but those are good!
July 21, 2010
I agree. My favorite cookie is chocolate chip. I'm not sure if I have had the Werther's candy you are referring to, but I don't usually like hard candies (if that's what it is). There is a really good dark chocolate and caramel chocolate that I eat here by Ghirardelli's, a chocolate company in SF.
July 21, 2010
(laughs) You are too funny, Aerin! You are definitely a top comedian here on Lunch!
July 21, 2010
LOL! I love that image! Very cute. And welcome back. :)
 
1
More Schindler's List (book) reviews
review by . December 08, 2012
Every one who is serious about life and movies has already seen Spielberg's classic film--seemingly every one but me, that is.  I have resisted tearing off the scab of recent history and horror.  But when I saw this book at a used book sale I decided it was time to face the pain.  The tale that Keneally tells so well here is full of pain, but the edge is dulled by a sliver of hope and even most improbably of joy.  Millions died; 1,300 were saved by Schindler's list.  …
review by . July 03, 2010
Reading Schindler's List brought to me a whole new perspective of the Holocaust and the war in general. Coming from the perspective of a business man like Schindler showed me a  whole new light on how drawn out and gradual the atrocities committed against the Jewish really were. The way this novel was written makes it hard to believe that this is a real historic account of what happened.      This story revealed how unaware most German people really were about what …
review by . July 04, 2010
 It started out as a selfish act to find workers to make a profit during the war and ended up a personal journey to help as many as he could survive he atrocities of World War Two.       Schindler's List was a rollercoaster ride of emotions to me. A man who wanted to take advantage of the war for his own greed changed everything after meeting Iztahk Stern, a man who helped Oskar Schindler help himself. Itzahk Stern showed Schindler that the Jews were just people. …
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Sickening but real, a needed read for social development, obviously with this topic ignorance would be bliss but since it did happen we need to learn from it so a necessary read to not forget and to take whatever actions to amend and move forward from it to not recreate this or similar horrors.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
A truly, truly, inspiring story of the strength of the human spirit.
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The book, which was originally titled Schindler's Ark was later changed to Schindler's List for its American publication. Although written in novel format, the book is an historical account of Oskar Schindler, a German industrialist and member of the Nazi Party, who used his manufacturing plant as a front for saving over 1,100 Jews from the death camps.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0340606517
ISBN-13: 978-0340606513
Author: Thomas Keneally
Genre: Historical Fiction, Historical Biography
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Date Published: 1982 (original publication) 1994 (U.S. publication)
First to Review

"Moving story"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists