|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Sense and Sensibility » User review

A man who has nothing to do with his own time has no conscience in his intrusion on that of others.

  • Jul 22, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

My favorite movie!  It is all about relationships and falling in love and old-English customs.  This story is very entertaining to see what life would have been like back in the day.  Would you dress like they do?  Here is a summary about the story:

Sense and Sensibility is the story of two sisters, Elinor and Marianne Dashwood who with their mother and younger sister, Margaret, are forced into poverty through the untimely death of their father. Mr. Dashwood was previously married and all of the Dashwood fortune and the estate of Norland, is then bequeathed to John, his son by his first marriage, leaving the Dashwood women practically penniless. Elinor and Marianne are polar opposites where love is concerned. Marianne is the incurable romantic and Elinor is the practical, down-to-earth person.

Elinor falls in love with Edward Ferrars and Marianne, for Willoughby. They spend happy moments in the company of these men and hope to be married to them. However, Edward turns out to be engaged to anopther girl, Lucy Steele and Willoughby plans to marry Miss Grey,a rich debutante. Next, Elinor learns of the marriage of Lucy Steele to Mr. Ferrars. Marianne goes through a period of depression and falls seriously ill. Elinor feels miserable to think of her Edward united with a lesser woman.

Marianne renews her enthusiasm for life and starts realizing the worth of Colonel Brandon. Elinor is relieved when Edward reveals the truth to her and then proposes. Marianne marries Colonel Brandon and Elinor marries Edward Ferrars.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Sense and Sensibility reviews
review by . June 27, 2010
"Sense and Sensibility" was the first novel from Jane Austen I read as a teenager. I really enjoyed it. It was also the first novel Jane Austen wrote in 1795. It is about two opposite characters, Elinor and Marianne Dashwood, fatherless and poor sisters, trying to find their way in the British society in late 18th century. Elinor is the eldest sister, past marriageable, practical, who keeps her emotions for herself. She proves good sense and judgement. On the contrary, Marianne is an …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
Austen's insight into the world of women is exactly on point in this classice piece.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Jane Austen is the best
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
what would my English professor say
review by . February 01, 2009
I thought that after all these years I might as well pitch in and give my two cents worth in regard to one of my favorite authors. The plot has been well covered with these reviews and others, and even if they had not, you would have had to almost spent your life living under a rock not to be aware, so I certainly will not beat it to death here.     Briefly though, this is the story of two sisters of the Dashwood family, who find themselves in a state of reduced circumstances …
review by . July 17, 2006
Being a fan of Jane Austen but never having read Sense and Sensibility, I approached this novel both nervously and excitedly. Reading any work by Austen is a delight, but I was worried this one wouldn't be as good as some of the others I'd read. However, I slipped into the language and time period effortlessly as I was introduced to the Miss Dashwoods and their plights of love and friendship. This debut novel by Austen is light, witty, and charming, and a complete joy from beginning to end.      …
About the reviewer

Ranked #2150
Member Since: Jul 22, 2010
Last Login: Nov 11, 2010 09:58 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ryanbench
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

"Excellent intro.--readable, thoughtful."--Robin Feuer Miller, Brandeis University
"A superb scholarly text with a thought-provoking introduction. This is the finest text available. Attractively presented, the price is right and the introduction is genuinely useful for students. Excellent scholarly apparatus: incisive but not cumbersome."--Dr. A.G. Hunter, Curry College
"Excellent but not overwhelming notes, superb introductions, intelligent decisions on textual issues. I especially like the readable type and the reasonable margins for notes!"--David Holloway, Portland State University
"Doody's useful introduction . . . clarif[ies] the complexities of Austen's irony for today's readers."--Thomas A. King, Brandeis University
"Excellent intro. with a helpful bibliography. Convenient size, easy-to-read print, affordable."--Janice Cooke, University of New Orleans
"A very attractive presentation of a classical text."--Justus Rosenberg, Bard College
"An excellent value for the cost."--Ellen M. Casey, Ph.D., University of Scranton
"A most commendable publication that all undergraduates will appreciate and all graduates will esteem."--Dr. Andreas K. Poulakidas, Ball State University
"A very enlightening introductory section and an excellent selective bibliography."--Robert O'Connor, North Dakota State University
"Excellent edition."--Dr. Anne Burley, Towson State ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0141439661
ISBN-13: 978-0141439662
Author: Jane Austen
Publisher: Penguin Classics

Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists