|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Sex And The City by Candace Bushnell » User review

Sex And The City by Candace Bushnell

Sex And The City by Candace Bushnell - General Fiction

< read all 5 reviews

A Good Summer Read

  • Jun 25, 2010
Rating:
+4

I read this book for the first time a couple of summers ago, and since then it's become a sort of tradition of mine to pick it up again  when summer rolls around. I wouldn't characterize it as a book that has something for everyone, or even something that would appeal to the masses, but for my purposes it works quite nicely. I tend to disagree with a fairly common opinion that it is anti-feminist, in fact in my opinion it is pretty empowering.  Which may be why i end up going back to it at the same time every year. Basically if you enjoy a book about life, the real kind, not the made up fairy tale kind then this book may be well suited for you. It's very honest and blunt and not always happy, but it's real and that is what i love about it. 
If your looking for a book that will follow the same cannon as the series and the movies however, looking here will prove to be quite the surprise. In truth the series from what i have found is extremely loosely based on the book. In the sense that the series used a few of the same names and characters.. that's really about it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
June 30, 2010
I've been interested in reading the book. I read Candace's "Four Blondes" and really enjoyed it. I will have to check this one out in the near future.
 
June 25, 2010
I haven't read this book, but I've certainly seen the series and movies. I would agree that this story line is empowering and often quite amusing. Thanks for sharing your opinion! BTW, it would be great if you could put a profile photo up so every one at Lunch can get to know you!:)
 
1
More Sex And The City by Candace Bu... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
watching the movie is more fun than reading the book. But it could be a novel to bring to the beach.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
I was really excited to read this after watching the series but was not a great read. Completely disjointed with no real focus
review by . November 16, 2008
Sex And The City by Candace Bushnell
Have you ever sat in a coffee shop or your hometown's shopping mall, catching snippets of juicy conversations as they pass by you? $eXz In The City, the book, is just like that only better.     In SITC, you get to listen to the snippets of the rich and famous, the ultimately wealthy, and the downright notorious; something you don't get at home.     Though built upon shallow ideals, the characters are anything but shallow; they are witty, charming, self-centered, …
About the reviewer
Ashley ()
Ranked #1466
Member Since: Jun 24, 2010
Last Login: Mar 9, 2011 07:04 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Pandora_13
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Pandora_13
About this book

Wiki

From Publishers Weekly
"We're leading sensory saturated lives," announces jetsetting photographer and playboy Peter Beard in a roundtable discussion of menages a trois, setting the tone of opulent debasement that suffuses this collection of Bushnell's punchy, archly knowing and sharply observed sex columns from the New York Observer. Prowling the modish clubs, party circuit and weekend getaways of rich and trendy New York society (most of whose denizens are identified by pseudonyms), Bushnell offers a brash, radically unromantic perspective. She visits a sex club and dates a Bicycle Boy ("the literary romantic subspecies" whose patron saints are George Plimpton and Murray Kempton). But in most chapters she keeps to the sidelines, deploying instead her alter-ego Carrie (like the author, a blonde writer from Connecticut in her mid-30s), whose sweet if feckless romance with Mr. Big?a nondescript power player?serves as a foil for the hilarious, unsentimentalized misadventures of her peers. These include model-chasers like Barkley, 25, a painter with the face of a Botticelli angel whose parents pay for his SoHo junior loft, and Tom Peri, the "emotional Mayflower," who ferries newly dumped women to higher emotional ground and is then invariably dumped. The effect is that of an Armistead Maupin-like canvas tinged with a liberal smattering of Judith Krantz. Collected in one volume, Bushnell's characters grow generic, but in small doses these essays are brain candy that will appeal ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0446673544
ISBN-13: 978-0446673549
Author: Candace Bushnell
Genre: General Fiction
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (September 1, 1997)
Date Published: (September 1, 1997)
Format: Paperback: 256 pages, Product Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.3 x 0.5 inches
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists