|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Shadow of the Hegemon (Ender's Shadow) » User review

Good, but not Great

  • Jan 17, 2001
  • by
Rating:
+1
I can't say I was disappointed in the continuation of Bean's story from Ender's Shadow (which I thought was great) but it was a bit flat.

First the praise. Card does an excellent job in characterization and that is the main strength of the book. The reader familiar with the previous novel will learn new and important things about each main charcter: Bean, Petra, Peter, Achilles and Sister Carlotta. We even get a deeper understanding of the more peripheral characters in the novel, such as Ender's parents. And they are all, very, very interesting characters.

I was troubled a bit by the plot. I think partially because I made the mistake of reading an online "chat" with Orson Scott Card on... , where he came across in some answers as a bit snobbish about his religion and not very forthcoming about some of his other points of view on issues. That's his prerogative, but I found his dismissiveness annoying. Secondly, I read the afterward before reading the book and didn't much agree with what he had to say there about America (or in the online chat) quickly becoming a marginal player in world affairs. I do agree with many of his criticims of the US, but I find it highly unlikely that the US will be marginalized so quickly. I'm saying this simply to state I had some biases before I start the book.

Nevertheless, the plot is thin and there's little reasonable or rational reason why Achille's or Peter could pull the strings of world powers so easily. I need more convincing than what Card offers, which is extremely little. Second, I still don't like the easy way he sweeps nuclear weapons under the rug using the IF. And finally, that the Western hemisphere is a non-player in the whole the shebang.

Basically, I don't think the plot that plausible and the author doesn't do enough to convince me.

BTW, I was also maybe put off a bit because there are corrections to the novel posted on Card's official website at ...

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
January 13, 2011
Good review CD!
 
January 13, 2011
This is one of the main reasons I haven't read the Shadow Saga. I'm afraid nothing will be able to compete with the original Ender's Saga.
January 13, 2011
I agree. I loved that first book.
January 13, 2011
Have you read this one?
January 13, 2011
I don't think so. I remember flipping through some of the sequels to Ender's Game and I was not impressed. I may pick it up again, since I am trying to get more reading done this year! I already have a stack to read. And I start city college next week -- lectures and lab classes for 4 days a week!
January 14, 2011
Wow, good for you! How many units? I think I bought this one, but I haven't read it yet.
January 14, 2011
7 units, which is a lot when you're also working fulltime. Well, you know. I was toying with an Associate in Science degree in Photography, but not all their classes are nights & weekends. One lecture, one lab, two classes equals four nights. Whew! Beginning Lighting and Design 101 (color, patterns in photos, etc.).
January 14, 2011
Yeah, that is a lot of units. Good luck, James! You'll do well!
January 14, 2011
Thanks. These classes fill up fast (because they're cutting back on classes, sadly), so there's a waiting list. Fortunately I beat the wait list. :) I start Tuesday.
January 14, 2011
Good for you! Way to be on top of it.
 
1
About this book

Wiki

Orson Scott Card finally explores what happened on earth after the war with the Buggers in the sixth book of his Ender series,Shadow of the Hegemon. This novel is the continuation of the story of Bean, which began withEnder's Shadow, a parallel novel to Card's Hugo and Nebula Award-winningEnder's Game.

While Ender heads off to a faraway planet, Bean and the other brilliant children who helped Ender save the earth from alien invaders have become war heroes and have finally been sent home to live with their parents. While the children try to fit back in with the family and friends they haven't known for nearly a decade, someone's worried about their safety. Peter Wiggins, Ender's brother, has foreseen that the talented children are in danger of being killed or kidnapped. His fears are quickly realized, and only Bean manages to escape. Bean knows he must save the others and protect humanity from a new evil that has arisen, an evil from his past. But just as he played second to Ender during the Bugger war, Bean must again step into the shadow of another, the one who will be Hegemon.

In Shadow of the Hegemon, Card can't help but fall back into old patterns. But while the theme is the same as in previous books--brilliant, tragic children with the fate of the human race resting on their shoulders--Shadow of the Hegemon does a wonderful job of continuing Bean's tale against a backdrop of the politics and intrigue of a fragile earth. While the novel ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0312876513
ISBN-13: 978-0312876517
Author: Orson Scott Card
Genre: Science Fiction & Fantasy
Publisher: Tor Books
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists