|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » State of Mind » User review

Plausible and really good

  • Oct 16, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+5
This book is set in 2030 Los Angeles. It is about government mind control, and one man's attempts to fight back.

Jake Travissi was thrown off the police force for upsetting the wrong people. He is let back on the force after he is implanted with a P-Chip. It lets a person do practically anything with their mind; access the Web, see things through the eyes of another P-Chip recipient, record video on to a computer hard drive and talk to other P-Chip recipients telepathically. A person can even regulate their metabolism so that they can eat and drink whatever they want and not gain weight. Jake is part of a three-man squad working for Homeland Security.

Their first case is to investigate the very public murder of Dr. Veloso, a co-creator of the P-Chip. The shooter's eyes, teeth and fingerprints have been removed, making identification nearly impossible. While Jake is there, he has split-second flashes of his hands destroying the evidence. On another raid, taking out an alleged terrorist cell, Jake has more flashes of he and his colleagues doing very illegal things. He also hears voices in his head, which are the God Heads.

Sandoval, the Director of Homeland Security, who commands the three-man squad (the Enhanced Unit), also runs a super-secret squad of P-Chip hackers. It is possible to take a person "offline," to shut down their higher brain functions, controlling them to do or say whatever you want, then plant false memories to make up for it. Jake begins to push back against the God Heads, killing one of them. In retaliation, Jake is kept offline for several weeks, and controlled to resign from the Enhanced Unit. He is constantly filled with feelings of depression and suicide by the God Heads. He is also turned into something of a donut addict, becoming a fat, lazy parody of a cop. Sandoval's intention in pushing the skyrocketing popularity of P-Chips is to become one of the elite who actually rule the world, while everyone else is kept happy in some artificial P-Chip world. With help from Dr. Morris, the P-Chip's other co-creator, Jake is able to do a lot more pushing back against Sandoval and the God Heads.

This one is very plausible, it's more than a little spooky and it's really good. How long will it be before a cell phone, or Web browser, can be miniaturized enough to fit inside a human brain?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
October 18, 2011
Hi Paul, Many thanks for the wonderful review. I greatly appreciate it. However, I have one little comment to add. Nancy Van Iderstine, was my editor. The book was written by yours truly, Sven Michael Davison. All the best, Sven
October 18, 2011
For what it's worth, the person who reviewed the book before me put in the wrong name. I didn't think it a good idea to create two listings for the same book (which is why I didn't do it).
October 19, 2011
Thanks, Paul. Given that one of the themes in this book is about the ultimate in identity theft, having a different author is perfect.
 
1
More State of Mind reviews
review by . March 02, 2011
From the marketing of this book to the actual content, author Sven Michael Davison had me hooked. I loved the premise of the book, and from there it just roared forward with entertainment, action and some serious issues being tackled.    What would you do if you felt as though you had nothing else to live for in life? Would you be willing to give yourself over to the control of others not for the bigger good but for your own satisfaction? And what would happened if you realized …
About the reviewer
Paul Lappen ()
Ranked #70
I am in my early 50s, single and live in Connecticut. I am a lifelong very, very avid reader and am a freelance book reviewer with my ownblog (http://www.deadtreesreview.blogspot.com). Please visit. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
plappen
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

State of Mind is an action-filled, engrossing journey across the tortuous emotional landscape of mind control, where nothing is quite what it seems for everyone involved. A must-read for Pin Heads and God Heads alike and for the casual observers. ---- Leonid Korogodski, author of Pink Noise

State of Mind is an action-packed cyber-thriller that transports us to a futuristic dystopia where the most dangerous battlefield is the human mind. Fans of Philip K. Dick and William Gibson will find much to enjoy -- and fear -- in the dark and mysterious world Sven Davison has so effectively created." ---- Charles de Lauzirika, director of Crave and Dangerous Days: Making Blade Runner

A great read! A classic near-future techno-thriller, with layers of intrigue, interesting twists and just a dash of pulp mixed in for good measure. Sven Davison's State of Mind is an engrossing journey through a well-considered and completely plausible world. --- Bill Hunt, Editor The Digital Bits.com
view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 0966614925
ISBN-13: 978-0966614923
Editor: Nancy Van Iderstine
Author: Sven Michael Davison
Publisher: Bedouin Press
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists