|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sports » Reviews » Super Bowl XLVI » User review

Super Bowl XLVI

An American football game between the New England Patriots and the New York Giants for the 2011 season.

< read all 5 reviews

Lived Up to My Expectations and More!

  • Feb 6, 2012
  • by
Rating:
+5
Who would have thought that this game was virtually a carbon copy of the last three meetings of these two teams? Three times in a row Eli Manning led the Giants downfield for a comeback lead with two minutes left and three times in a row Tom Brady tried to stage a last second drive that went to the bitter end. Three nail bitters that came down to amazing catches and a couple of "almosts" and "dropped" passes by sure handed Patriot receivers. Three times in a row the Giants have ended an amazing streak by the Patriots (18 regular season wins, 20 consecutive home wins, 10 consecutive wins).

I thought that this game might be the first overtime Championship games since the Giants/Colts of the 1950's and it came pretty close. It must be frustrating in Beantown to know that the Giants have become their new bane, replacing the Yankees. The Patriots should have nothing to be ashamed of as their brought their A game all three times and one break could have meant the difference of them winning any one of those games.

I don't think I ever saw somebody be "allowed" to score the go-ahead touchdown before and then try to stop himself from scoring it. In the future, nobody that was not around to witness these games first-hand would believe that they happened the way they did. They were exciting, games that were like deja vu.

Now Manning has backed up his pre-season boast about being "elite" and nobody will ever question him again. Tom Coughlin doesn't have to ever worry about being fired and he can leave on his own terms. Football has now morphed into a sport where regular season record does not matter. Only getting hot at the right time and making it to the post season are the most important factors for success.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
February 08, 2012
Yep, I am still a little mad at myself for missing the first half. It was a great game--definitely a nail-biter. But I really loved the 49ers-Saints playoff game before the NFC championship. This would be second in my list of best games this season.
February 08, 2012
All the games played (Denver/Pittsburgh, New England/Baltimore, NY/San Francisco, San Francisco/New Orleans) were nail biters down to the very last play. Probably the greatest playoff run in NFL history!
 
February 07, 2012
I believe that the game was low scoring because of the volume of injuries on the Giants' team. In the article here, I predicted a Giants win by 34-21 over the Patriots. Mario #88 caught the game winning ball; otherwise, the game might have gone into overtime with the Patriots winning. Eli Manning did win the MVP outright although close runner-ups were Victor Cruz and Mario #88.
February 07, 2012
Actually the real MVP should have been Weatherford the punter. The Patriot started with awful field position the entire game and that made it difficult for Brady to manuever into scoring range with his short passing attack.
February 08, 2012
Eli Manning definitely earned the MVP. He took a tremendous beating on the field and still prevailed.
 
February 07, 2012
That was a nail-biter by two talented teams. I was a little disappointed that it was such a low scoring game but, that usually means it's good!
 
February 06, 2012
This game didn't excite me that much, but I agree with you that Eli has finally shut up the naysayers. He's not flashy. He's not boastful. He just gets the job done. That's rare in the NFL these days.
 
1
More Super Bowl XLVI reviews
review by . February 06, 2012
Quarterback Eli Manning Earns The MVP Award For Sure
The Giants did it again. They beat the Patriots for the second time in recent history   with this 2012 Superbowl win.  Eli Manning  won  the MVP predictably.  The award   was well earned after spectacular performances tonight and during the playoff season.   Eli played better tonight. He took more risks by throwing the ball for longer passes   and more completions. Mario Manningham #88 made a spectacular game changing   catch …
Quick Tip by . January 23, 2012
What can I say. This is a rematch from 2008. In that time the two teams have met 3 times and all games were back and forth events going down to the wire. I expect no less from this game.
Quick Tip by . February 06, 2012
This game was a real nail-biter, even if it was a little bit sloppy at times. I don't know how there were calls on each team for too many men on the field. I think too many people are talking about Mario Manningham's big catch - yeah, it was awesome, but big catches like that happen virtually weekly in the NFL. Tom Brady lost, but he did play a very good game.
Quick Tip by . February 06, 2012
I don't know what it was, but this Super Bowl was just dull to me. Glancing at the score, one would believe that the game was a nail biter, but the only suspenseful moment for me was the toss up Brady chunked to end the game. I'm glad that the Giants won, but I preferred the previous Super Bowl contest between these two to this one.
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Tags

Book, Sports, Football, Nfl, Super Bowl, Super Bowl Xlvi

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists