|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People » User review

Be effective in LIFE.. "7 Habits" not just for business!

  • Oct 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I first saw the 7 Habits in a Barnes and Noble around 2000, and thought it might be useful for my engineering business. Other than hearing the occasional reference to it and to Stephen Covey I had no idea what it was about. The principles he covers certainly rang true such as for; being more effective, being ethical, and the pitfall of getting bogged down by putting out continual fires, such that you stop developing your actual business.

His 7 Habits are as he says common sense, but not necessarily common practice. Thinking Win/Win and Seeking to Understand certainly resonated with me. I have had too much experience in business where people are so Win/Lose oriented. From ego driven peers in the dating community, to business managers of fortune 100 companies treating their customers like the enemy. Customers I might add who are spending $100 million to $500 million on telecom infrastructure and technical services!

Emotional maturity applies to business, just as it applies to our personal lives.

Where this book really shined for me was actually on a personal level. My girlfriend had left me at a difficult emotional time. She was my first girlfriend, and the overwhelming sense of loss I felt lead me to work though my personal demons. Covey talks about the Emotional Bank Account. Simple and logical as it may be I’d never heard anyone talk about it, and well let’s just say that when I was younger I was extremely good at depleting the emotional bank account of those who cared about me. For this reason alone it helped me a great deal with my ongoing journey of emotional maturity.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 30, 2009
This sounds like a really, really wonderful book. Was it written specifically for business people? Nonetheless, the concept of that Emotional Bank Account is intriguing enough for me to pick up this book. Thanks for sharing!

By the way, I thought you might appreciate this review on Reinvention: How to Make the Rest of Your Life the Best of Your Life, another wonderful self-help book.
 
1
More The 7 Habits of Highly Effecti... reviews
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I never found this book particularly enlightening or helpful, despite its motivational title. I may try another re-read to see if it will help me conform to employment in the mega corporate culture.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
This is a highly recommended book. I think it good for recognizing what is important in your life, but in my opinion he doesn't really give the why's.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I read this back in high school for my speech class. I actually liked it, and thought it was a pretty good read.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Very helpful career advice!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Excellant business literature. Should be in the library of everyone, who has great aims.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Very many great tips and tricks!
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2009
His 7 Habits are as he says common sense, but not necessarily common practice. Thinking Win/Win and Seeking to Understand resonated with me.
review by . February 06, 2009
To put first things first, Stephen Covey's treatise on principle-centered self-improvement is still engaging and worthwhile almost 20 years after it was originally published.      In this age of lifehacking and making technology work for you, Covey's insights are actually more relevant than ever, because people are increasingly believing that gadgets and gizmos will solve all of the world's communication and productivity issues. In fact, more often than not these communication …
About the reviewer

Ranked #705
http://askjdog.com - I'm an engineer, an artist, a hobbyist musician.. and lead a rather unusual life. Having a Masters of Engineering in Microelectronic Systems and Telecommunications, I worked on some … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ASKJDOG
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Details

ISBN-10: 0743269519 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780743269513 (pbk.)
Author: Stephen R. Covey, Stephen, R Covey
Genre: Leadership, Management, Motivational, Paperback, Psychology & Counseling, Success, Covey, Stephen R., Self Help, Protestantism, Careers & Business Life, Personal Growth, Psychology, Personal Transformation, Case Studies, Industrial Psychology, Job Hunting & Careers, Entrepreneurship
Publisher: Free Press
Date Published: November 9, 2004
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists