|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Adventures of Tom Sawyer » User review

I HATE TO BE A CURMUDGEON, BUT......

  • Jun 16, 2007
Rating:
-1
This particular story and it's companion, Huckleberry Finn are seen by most (myself included) as pillars of American Literature. They are almost perfectly written books. I have been reading these books for well over 55 years now myself. I am certainly not going into the plot here, nor the author's technique or style, those have been covered thousands of times by much better writers than myself. When I came upon this book, I did give it a quick going over. It has indeed been Reader Digestize. To be frank, that almost makes me want to cry. I cannot think of one word in this wonderful work that could possibly be cut without committing some sort of literary hersey. If a young person is old enough to read this book or old enough to have it read to him or her, then we should give them the full story. Anything else is simply cheating the child of something quite valuable. After a young person reads this version, he or she will not, in any sense of the word, be able to say "I read Tom Sawyer." That would be like saying "I ate a cherry pie," without having cherries present in the pie. I will admit the illustrations in this book are nice though. Now this is just one old man's opinion, keep that in mind, and if there is no other way your child will read this book, then I suppose it is better than nothing.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Adventures of Tom Sawyer reviews
Quick Tip by . December 22, 2010
Little wonder that Tom Sawyer, Huckleberry Finn, Becky Thatcher, Aunt Polly and Injun Joe have been elevated to the status of icons of American literature and culture.     If you only read it as a child, you owe it to yourself as an adult to re-read it and experience the joy again from an entirely different perspective.
review by . February 06, 2010
Little wonder that Tom Sawyer, Huckleberry Finn, Becky Thatcher, Aunt Polly and Injun Joe have been elevated to the status of icons of American literature and culture.       Who among us, as playful children, did not scramble over a fallen down tree pretending to be swashbuckling captains of an English privateer scanning the Spanish Main for easy pirate loot? Who among us does not recall the first embarrassing onset of puppy love for a young girl in our class and the steadfast …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
Lookig at the injustices of slavery through the eyes of a white child give you a fresh perspective on the goings in America during this period of history. The inhumane treatment of slaves is counterbalanced by Tom's innocence and humor.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I loved these books, and still do years later. If you have the opportunity to read this or offer it to your younger friends and family, it is quite enjoyable.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Somehow Mark Twain managed to get inside a young boy's head! He reminds us what it was like to be a young boy in North America in a very timeless way. Even if you read Tom Sawyer as a youngster, it's well worth a re-read to remind ourselves as busy adults what the breathless joy and adventure of childhood was all about
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I love this book
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I love this book. Tom is a great character and this book shows it all- the adventure, the search for love, and even Tom's emotional side.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
interesting book
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Nice story to discover a part of the American culture
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Tom learns that the truth that society teaches us, is not always the truth that we must follow.
About the reviewer
Don Blankenship ()
Ranked #229
Retirement does not suit me and I now substitute teach in our local schools system. I spent twenty years in the military, twenty years in health care as a consultant and have taught in various colleges … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheAncientReader
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists