|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Alchemist

A book by Paulo Coelho

< read all 18 reviews

A Quick Tip by pinkchic727

  • Jun 3, 2010
Sort of mystical...
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Alchemist reviews
Quick Tip by . January 25, 2011
An excellent read. I am currently finding a spot for this in the High School Curriculum. It is past time for us to have books that are more relevant for our Hispanic Population. "Mango Street" is a nice start, but by the time they reach high school, we have so little for them. They tend to read this one from cover to cover, and have a lot to say about it as well.
review by . August 03, 2010
  Quite possibly one of my favorite books. The whole story stands as an allegory that reaches across religions, cultures, and languages. The novel has been translated in over 33 languages and is an international bestseller. It could even be argued that Coelho's story transcends created borders to be a global novel.      I would recommend this book to anyone who is on a journey, with an interest in listening to stories. The allegory involves a young man named Santiago …
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Love this book. Love the story. It has some great quotes. It should be required reading for all young people. Follow your dreams.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Really loved this book. It ignited in me a desire for a fantastic life at a rather young age. And since, that is what I've lived.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Lovely journey and philosophy.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
loved it
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
good story
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Didn't captivate me the way others had.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
One of the best books I've ever read. I recommend it more than any book outside the bible. Spiritual, easy read, page-turner, coming of age, heroic, beautiful prose, what more?
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I put this book down. It was a little boring.
About the reviewer
Val Satula ()
Ranked #1788
I'm a big book worm...read everything I can get my hands on! =)
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
pinkchic727
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The Alchemist (Portuguese: O Alquimista) is an allegorical novel by Paulo Coelho first published in 1988. It follows Santiago, a young Spanish shepherd, on a journey to fulfill his Personal Legend. It has been hailed as a modern classic.  The plot is inspired from Jorge Luis Borges' short story: Tale of two dreamers.

The Alchemist was originally written in Portuguese and has since been translated into 67 languages, winning the Guiness World Record for most translated book by a living author. It has sold more than 65 million copies in more than 150 countries, becoming one of the best-selling books in history.

Santiago, a boy living in Spain, leads a common life of travel through his trade of shepherding and entertains thoughts of marrying a merchant's daughter. One day, he has a dream in which a child tells him to go to the Egyptian pyramids, which will lead him to hidden treasure. He consults a gypsy to interpret his dream, who tells him that it is a dream in the language of the world, and he must go to the Pyramids. Santiago dismisses this and plans to continue on with his daily life. While he sits to read a book, an old man strikes up conversation with him. The old man reveals that he is Melchizedek, the King of Salem. The King tells Santiago that in exchange for one-tenth of his sheep, he'll tell him where to find the treasure. Santiago agrees and buys a ticket to Tangiers.

In Tangiers, Santiago is tricked by a thief and loses his money and ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0062502174
ISBN-13: 9780062502179
Author: Paulo Coelho
Genre: Literature & Fiction
Publisher: HarperSanFrancisco
Date Published: ©1993
Format: Book : Fiction; English
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists