|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Cat in the Hat

A 1957 children's book by Dr. Seuss.

< read all 33 reviews

A Quick Tip by igazaar

  • Jul 1, 2010
The start of a dynasty!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Cat in the Hat reviews
review by . August 03, 2010
A Staple in American Literature
          The Cat in the Hat written by the famous children's book writer, and illustrator Dr. Seuss is one of the many staples in American literature that everyone must read. This book provides everything you are looking for and more with its entertaining plot, invigorating pictures, humorous writing style, a few very important life lessons, and is a great educational tool. The Cat in the Hat delivers a life lesson while keeping you entertained …
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
Classic Seuss. Need I say More? With a Seuss in my hands, I never will snore. I'll not shut my eyes, not a wink, not a blink! With a Seuss in my hands I'll do nothing but think!
review by . June 14, 2010
This book tells the story of the Cat messing up the house while the kids parents were out. Good message to kids about not letting anybody in when their parents are away from home. This is a very good book I have read this too my kids as well as the kids I have taught in pre-school.
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
Theodore Goessel (BKA Dr. Seuss) shook up the juvenile world with this instant loopy classic by addressing the imagination, fears, and desires of children everywhere.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
Not as bad as some of Dr.Seuss' other stuff. Perhaps a redemptive ending. Has the sad sense of American abandonment that western children feel. A cat has to come play with the kids?
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
For a children's story it really keeps you on the edge of your seat! Suess' quirky characters and signature rhyme scheme makes this one of the best storybooks ever.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Just a classic, nothing extraordinary. If you are in america you must to know this book, if you are in somewhere else, don't even try.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
These are the best books for children. They are easy to read and you learn a little something.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
a favorite for everyone no matter the age. dr seuss is absolutely brilliant in every piece of work he does. though maybe a little crazy. thats probably the most important part of being brilliant.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Every child has a little naughty and nice. This book is alright. It did put the kids a little on the dis empowered side. That cat in his hat!
About the reviewer
B R Hembree ()
Ranked #2025
Just me and pretty good at it!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
igazaar
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The Cat in the Hat is a children's book by Dr. Seuss, featuring a tall, anthropomorphic, mischievous cat, wearing a tall, red and white striped hat, and a bowtie. He also carries an umbrella. With the series of Beginner Books that The Cat inaugurated, Seuss promoted both his name and the cause of elementary literacy in the United States.

In the first book featuring the character (The Cat in the Hat, 1957), the Cat brings a cheerful, exotic and exuberant form of chaos to a household of two young children one rainy day while their mother leaves them unattended. Bringing with him two creatures appropriately named Thing One and Thing Two, the Cat performs all sorts of wacky tricks to amuse the children, with mixed results. The Cat's antics are vainly opposed by the family pet, who is a sentient and articulate goldfish. The children (Sally and her older brother, who serves as the narrator) ultimately prove exemplary latchkey children, capturing the Things and bringing the Cat under control. To make up for the chaos he has caused, he cleans up the house on his way out, disappearing seconds before the mother arrives.

The book has been popular since its publication, and a logo featuring the Cat adorns all Dr. Seuss publications and animated films produced after The Cat in the Hat. The Cat holds up a cup, some milk, a cake, three books, the Fish, a rake, a toy boat, a toy man, a red fan and his umbrella while he's on a ball.

Seuss wrote the book because he felt that ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists