Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Prydain Chronicles (omnibus)

Lloyd Alexander's five-part fantasy/adventure series for young adults published between 1964-1968.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by Fionnchu

  • Sep 10, 2010
  • by
These enchanted me in grade school. I read them alongside "The Hobbit" and found them much more engaging than the Narnia series, and a great preparation for medieval literature and Tolkien's trilogy. Similar to Tolkien, Alexander grounded his works in a "real" terrain, this time the Welsh peninsula, and his stories explore Celtic themes with a rich depth and a strong grasp on landscape as well as character. There's humor, love, and maturity, suitable for young people moving up from childhood to teen challenges. And, this Welsh theme reminds me to finally get to Evangeline Walton's Mabinogion Tetralogy, a grownup retelling of those tales from mythology on this same "Prydain," that is, protoBritain.
Was this helpful?
Post a Comment
September 10, 2010
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I never read these, sounds interesting. What is the youngest age would you consider appropriate? I have a 7 year old grandson.
September 10, 2010
If he's precocious as he may be if related to you, he may be ready, but I'd guess ten or eleven might be a better age, as these tales show a coming-of-age saga that may appeal more to the pre-adolescent.
More The Chronicles of Prydain reviews
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2011
Absolutely one of my favorite fantasy series (and probably in my top five fantasy series alongside the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Lewis Carroll, and J.K. Rowling), Lloyd Alexander's The Chronicles of Prydain is a wonderful quintet of books that detail the adventures of Taran and his allies.   The books were published one each year from 1964-1968 and were inspired in part by the epic fantasies of Tolkien and Lewis, but also in part by the Welsh and Celtic mythology found in …
About the reviewer
John L. Murphy ()
Ranked #48
Medievalist turned humanities professor; unrepentant but not unskeptical Fenian; overconfident accumulator of books & music; overcurious seeker of trivia, quadrivia, esoterica.      … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book


The Chronicles of Prydain (sometimes given as The Prydain Chronicles) is a five-volume series of children's fantasy novels by author Lloyd Alexander. First published from 1964–1968, the stories detail the adventures of a young man named Taran, who is awarded the honor of Assistant Pig-Keeper but dreams of being a grand hero, and his companions Princess Eilonwy, Fflewddur Fflam the wandering bard and king, a feral yet gentle creature called Gurgi, and a dwarf named Doli. Since a recurring facet of the series is the progression from youth to maturity, particularly prominent in Taran Wanderer, the series could be considered a bildungsroman.
In the early 2000s, an unabridged audiobook production of the series was produced by Listening Library, narrated by James Langton, with author's notes read by Lloyd Alexander.
The Black Cauldron, an animated film based on the books, was released by the Walt Disney Company in 1985.
view wiki


Author: Lloyd Alexander
Genre: Fantasy, Epic Adventure
Publisher: Henry Holt, Dell Pub. Co
Date Published: 1964-1968
Format: Novels
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since