|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Complete Calvin and Hobbes » User review

Completely great.

  • Jun 29, 2010
Rating:
+4

Calvin and Hobbes is likely the most entertaining, funniest, most creative comic strip to appear in papers. In the pages of this book you will find every Calvin strip ever published; a nice break from scatterbrained "collections" of mismatched strips. Published originally in the 70s and 80s, this comic is still funny and still culturally relevant. I wasn't even alive during Calvin and Hobbes' original run but books like this one kept the comic alive in my childhood. 

Chances are you already know who or what Calvin and Hobbes is if you're reading this, so i won't bore you with an explanation of the comic. I will say that Watterson's comics are hilarious, and consistently so. Look up the strip online and read a few. If you like them, you're going to love the whole collection. I own several collections of Watterson's work and I can testify that Calvin's antics certainly don't get old. You will be reading and re-reading this book for years to come. 

Completely great.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
May 03, 2012
Excellent review too!
 
July 01, 2010
Happily, I can report that Bill Watterson lives near Cleveland. Although he keeps a very low profile. This might be of some interest: http://www.cleveland.com/living/index.ssf/20...on_creator_of_belo.html Of course, I have this book and enjoy it immensely. Great review!
 
June 30, 2010
Agreed with you on all accounts! I grew up reading Calvin and Hobbes, and will probably never get sick of their shenanigans. Great review, Taylor!
 
June 30, 2010
I howled out loud when I read the series about Calvin's evil snowmen. Great review.
 
1
More The Complete Calvin and Hobbes reviews
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
genius! great for kids 10 & up!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Watterson is the first "reporter" of childhood who got the story right: Reality is simply not reality to a child with a furiously creative brain and a tiger to help him develop it. Magnificent at all levels.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Open it up. Pick a random page. I'll promise you, you'll laugh. My roommate lent this to me, and he was given this as a gift (lucky). Calvin has an overactive imagination and he drives his parents, friends and teachers crazy. Enjoy the random, funny adventures of Calvin and his pet(!) tiger Hobbes.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Sighs....so nostalgic and innocent!
Quick Tip by . May 19, 2010
I miss Calvin & Hobbes! Loved the snowmen.
review by . March 15, 2009
If you love Calvin and Hobbes, as I do, this is a must have collection. These three nicely bound and well presented volumes provide every Calvin and Hobbes comic strip ever published, 1985-1995.     There is also an introduction by Bill Watterson covering his background and way of thinking that sheds a lot of light on some of the humor and skits that appear in the comic strip.     The collection comes in three over size volumes with a sturdy slip case. The …
About the reviewer
Taylor Nowotny ()
Ranked #881
Member Since: Jun 29, 2010
Last Login: Jul 2, 2010 08:22 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
iloveashley111
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The complete Cavlin and Hobbes Comic Strip Collection.
view wiki

Tags

Books, Cafe Libri, Calvin And Hobbes, Bill Waterson, Comic Strip

Details

ISBN-10: 0740748475
ISBN-13: 978-0740748479
Author: Bill Watterson
Genre: Entertainment, Bargain Books, Comics & Graphic Novels
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing (October 4, 2005)
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists