|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Complete Calvin and Hobbes » User review

Great Comic Collection: Cavlin and Hobbes Live Again

  • Mar 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
If you love Calvin and Hobbes, as I do, this is a must have collection. These three nicely bound and well presented volumes provide every Calvin and Hobbes comic strip ever published, 1985-1995.

There is also an introduction by Bill Watterson covering his background and way of thinking that sheds a lot of light on some of the humor and skits that appear in the comic strip.

The collection comes in three over size volumes with a sturdy slip case. The comics are well presented in both black and white and color, just as they appeared in newspapers. The books are large and a bit heavy so you won't be lugging this onto the subway with you. But they are great to enjoy at home and will provide nostalgia and lots of laughs for people who followed and enjoyed the comic strip for years.

This collection is well worth the price.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 15, 2009
I love Calvin and Hobbes. It's a surprisingly sophisticated comic, so much more than Garfield or any of the other popular series. I think I might've read the entire collection. How much is the collected series?
March 15, 2009
It's a little pricey. You can get for around $95 on Amazon, and maybe a little cheaper on E-Bay.
March 15, 2009
Yeah, it's a bit pricey! But then again, it is a collector's item. So it's not terrible as a memento.
March 15, 2009
It's pretty sturdy and well done too. The thing weights a ton.
 
1
More The Complete Calvin and Hobbes reviews
review by . June 29, 2010
Completely great.
Calvin and Hobbes is likely the most entertaining, funniest, most creative comic strip to appear in papers. In the pages of this book you will find every Calvin strip ever published; a nice break from scatterbrained "collections" of mismatched strips. Published originally in the 70s and 80s, this comic is still funny and still culturally relevant. I wasn't even alive during Calvin and Hobbes' original run but books like this one kept the comic alive in my childhood.    …
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
genius! great for kids 10 & up!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Watterson is the first "reporter" of childhood who got the story right: Reality is simply not reality to a child with a furiously creative brain and a tiger to help him develop it. Magnificent at all levels.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Open it up. Pick a random page. I'll promise you, you'll laugh. My roommate lent this to me, and he was given this as a gift (lucky). Calvin has an overactive imagination and he drives his parents, friends and teachers crazy. Enjoy the random, funny adventures of Calvin and his pet(!) tiger Hobbes.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Sighs....so nostalgic and innocent!
Quick Tip by . May 19, 2010
I miss Calvin & Hobbes! Loved the snowmen.
About this book

Wiki

The complete Cavlin and Hobbes Comic Strip Collection.
view wiki

Tags

Books, Cafe Libri, Calvin And Hobbes, Comic Strip, Bill Waterson

Details

ISBN-10: 0740748475
ISBN-13: 978-0740748479
Author: Bill Watterson
Genre: Entertainment, Bargain Books, Comics & Graphic Novels
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing (October 4, 2005)
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists