|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite » User review

Struggle With the Mean Streets of Fast Food Avenue? Read This Book.

  • Aug 7, 2010
Rating:
+4

The End of Overeating is an eye opening book. If you struggle with any pull toward the things you know you should not eat, the things that make you feel awful after you slurp them down and yet you eat every bite, you need to read this book.

Dr. Kessler looks into the science of hyperpalatable foods and then he investigates the psychology. It was fascinating and horrifying to realize that certain foods are as addictive to the brain as some heavy duty street drugs.

The scientific information can get a little boggy but it is worth slogging through to get to the help Kessler offers after he leaves the reader feeling hopeless to overcome food addiction and the mean streets of fast food avenue lined with the neon lure of saucy satisfaction.

Most of the contents of the book can fall under this one common sense quote from page 207. " Eventually, we can begin to think differently about food, recognizing its value to sustain us and protect us from hunger, and denying it the authority to govern our lives." While the quote is a worthy goal, getting from addiction or salivation to serenity with food takes work on the part of the reader who wants to make this goal reality. And Kessler offers common sense help to pull that off. 

Really. If you are making choices to get healthy yet struggle with dreaming of Crispy Cremes and waking up singing "Candy Man" read this book!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
July 16, 2011
That figure sounds about right, JSMaresca. I work in the medical field. Our lifestyles have a HUGE impact on our health. There are a lot of people who want magic pills to fix their ills, but each medication carries side effects and sometimes the side effects are far more costly than expected.
 
July 11, 2011
Bad food is making our health care systems unaffordable due to the lengthier queues for service. A healthier population would cut service queues by 75% or more and save everyone money and grief.
 
August 24, 2010
Sheri, I so agree with you. Moderation is a big key, denial makes for some very, very alluring temptations. It has helped to find things that are natural, organic and tasty! I have found that healthy food takes better and better the more I choose to eat it. And more often, I can say no to the crap because it just doesn't sound so good after all. I think you'll get some great information from the book....thanks for commenting.
 
August 10, 2010
I began eating healthy in mid-2003 and still struggle regularly to stay away from the things that I know are unhealthy for me. I have an "everything in moderation" mindset, but it's hard to find that happy medium between allowing myself to have a little of everything I want and having too much of it or having it too often. Thanks for the review, Kelly! I had not heard about this book. I'll check it out.
 
August 09, 2010
Thanks for the feedback, AerinBlue. Glad I gave you a chuckle. And this book definitely covers much info about fat/sugar/salt layering and the making of hyperpalatability. And the addictiveness of food that is so processed that one hardly even has to chew.
 
1
About the reviewer
Kelly Klepfer ()
Ranked #56
Member Since: Feb 11, 2009
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 02:25 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KellyKlepfer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Conditioned hypereating is a biological challenge, not a character flaw, says Kessler, former FDA commissioner under presidents Bush and Clinton). Here Kessler (A Question of Intent) describes how, since the 1980s, the food industry, in collusion with the advertising industry, and lifestyle changes have short-circuited the body's self-regulating mechanisms, leaving many at the mercy of reward-driven eating. Through the evidence of research, personal stories (including candid accounts of his own struggles) and examinations of specific foods produced by giant food corporations and restaurant chains, Kessler explains how the desire to eat—as distinct from eating itself—is stimulated in the brain by an almost infinite variety of diabolical combinations of salt, fat and sugar. Although not everyone succumbs, more people of all ages are being set up for a lifetime of food obsession due to the ever-present availability of foods laden with salt, fat and sugar. A gentle though urgent plea for reform, Kessler's book provides a simple food rehab program to fight back against the industry's relentless quest for profits while an entire country of people gain weight and get sick. According to Kessler, persistence is all that is needed to make the perceptual shifts and find new sources of rewards to regain control.(May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 1605297852
ISBN-13: 978-1605297859
Author: David Kessler
Genre: Health, Mind & Body
Publisher: Rodale Books
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists