|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Five People You Meet in Heaven » User review

A Connected Life: The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

  • Jun 29, 2010
Rating:
+4

The only thing we are guaranteed in life is that one day we will die.  Where do we go when we do?  Will we reunite with loved ones?  Is there a Heaven?  A Hell?
In Mitch Albom's The Five People You Meet in Heaven, not only is there a heaven but it is intermingled with our lives on earth.
The story starts off with a count-down of time before the instant of Eddie's death.  Eddie is an 83 year old amusement park maintenance man who is resigned to his life of fixing rides at Ruby Pier seaside amusement park, a job he took over after the death of his own father.  The lifetime of disappointment was blatant but his one achievement was his great love for his wife.  The emotion felt when he reminisced about their life together was heartfelt.
Eddie and his wife were unable to have children of their own and he had a soft spot for the children on the pier.  On the day of his death Eddie was trying to save the life of a little girl from a falling cart on one of the rides.  He felt two small hands in his as he died and left to heaven wondering if he saved her, foreshadowing the events to happen in heaven.
The five people Eddie met were people whose lives were bonded with his.  Some were obvious but others told the tale of how we are connected to one another beyond our own cognition.  We touch lives of others each day whether we are aware of the effects or not.
Mitch Albom once again captures the spirit in the lessons of life through death. His ability to tell the story of a life is beautiful.
If you have ever wondered about afterlife or felt a connection with a loved one that has died I highly recommend this book to you. 
 

A Connected Life: The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
June 29, 2010
Thanks Patty! 
It was a good book and a really easy read.  I should have mentioned that in my review..oops! 
 
1
More The Five People You Meet in He... reviews
review by . July 06, 2010
As I read another one of Mitch Albom's books, I once again find inspiration.  While this book was fiction, it certainly had a message.      We all go through live and do not realize the impact we have on people's lives.  People that may seem largely significant and people that we may not even realize we left an impression,  This impression can impact their lives in a significant way.       The books recounts the life of a man who …
review by . July 06, 2010
I've always enjoyed Mitch Albom - Tuesdays with Morrie was so simple and changed my life and how I see things. Five People You Meet in Heaven is a great read and can be spent with a rainy afternoon on the couch. You know a book is good when you think of it randomly in your life every once in awhile, as you interact within random experiences. You never who will come across that will make a difference in your life ... or the people they met in order to instill certain experiences that affected …
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
An amazing book! Mitch Albom is an incredible author. Tuesdays With Morrie is also a wonderful book my Albom.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
More impossibly cheesy inspiration from a terrible writer.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Interesting to think about. And better written than his first book.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Mitch Albom is a great sports writer but is far better off writing about the Lions, Tigers and dying professors than this sentimental glop.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Moving, exhilarating, intriguing, and brilliantly told. My first read from Albom, and certainly not my last. This is the book to read when you're feeling lost in the world, or perhaps just lost in yourself. I recommend the film as well -- excellent adaptation.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Great quick book.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
If you liked Tuesdays With Morrie you'll like this other book by Albom! Very inspirational and thought provoking!
review by . November 18, 2007
The book describes what it is like to die and meet people in  the afterlife through the character of Eddie. The character  meets with an untimely death by accident and awakens to find  an associate of 75 years earlier. Another story depicts  a mountainous and snowy field with elderly people eating pie  in a diner. Yet, another story shows his wife, Mary with hands  extended in heaven to welcome him home.    The book …
About the reviewer
Lisa ()
Ranked #459
Member Since: Jun 25, 2010
Last Login: Oct 2, 2011 02:27 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Lili_K
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Part melodrama and part parable, Mitch Albom'sThe Five People You Meet in Heavenweaves together three stories, all told about the same man: 83-year-old Eddie, the head maintenance person at Ruby Point Amusement Park. As the novel opens, readers are told that Eddie, unsuspecting, is only minutes away from death as he goes about his typical business at the park. Albom then traces Eddie's world through his tragic final moments, his funeral, and the ensuing days as friends clean out his apartment and adjust to life without him. In alternating sections, Albom flashes back to Eddie's birthdays, telling his life story as a kind of progress report over candles and cake each year. And in the third and last thread of the novel, Albom follows Eddie into heaven where the maintenance man sequentially encounters five pivotal figures from his life (a laA Christmas Carol). Each person has been waiting for him in heaven, and, as Albom reveals, each life (and death) was woven into Eddie's own in ways he never suspected. Each soul has a story to tell, a secret to reveal, and a lesson to share. Through them Eddie understands the meaning of his own life even as his arrival brings closure to theirs.

Albom takes a big risk with the novel; such a story can easily veer into the saccharine and preachy, and this one does in moments. But, for the most part, Albom's telling remains poignant and is occasionally profound. Even with its flaws, The Five People You Meet in Heaven is a ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1401308589
ISBN-13: 978-1401308582
Author: Mitch Albom
Publisher: Hyperion

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists