|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Giving Tree

A book by Shel Silverstein.

< read all 27 reviews

A Quick Tip by sunflag

  • Jun 24, 2010
Beautiful, sweet and charming
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Giving Tree reviews
review by . June 16, 2010
This is such a great book!  It really teaches people of all ages important things with simple yet perfect illustrations.  This book carries strong life lessons that will carry on with a person for a long time.   I really love how simple the illustrations are because they send such a powerful message!  I think for every age ground there is probably a different meaning to this book!  Teaching giving is a lot better than receiving even though it might feel hard at the …
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Good training for a relationship without reciprocal giving. Hating on Twilight's message is popular but this one is at least as bad.
review by . July 03, 2010
This is an oldie but a goodie.  I'm not going to tell you much more.  A short read with a beautiful message.  One to pass down to future generations.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
My mom used to read this book to me when I was younger. It is a really sad story. Shel Silverstein is a great talent.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Quick, simple, and thought provoking!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I was just thinking of this story the other day for my daughter...such a nice message.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
A somewhat co-dependent tale of a tree that gives literally all to a young boy, "and the tree was happy," and the boy was never anything but dissatisfied with anything that the tree gave. In his lectures, Leo Buscaglia gave this book a scathing pan. Sometimes, instead of giving all, you need to say, "Take a hike, Jack!"
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Love this book to an embarrassing level. (Secretly wanted to kick the boys butt for not properly appreciating his trees giving nature...) This book makes me heart ache.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Another classic from my childhood! Very meaningful.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Who doesn't love this book?
About the reviewer
Kirsten ()
Ranked #1735
Enter Parmenides magic field and enjoy the sweet lightness of being...
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sunflag
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


The Giving Tree, first published in 1964 by Harper & Row, is a children's book written and illustrated by Shel Silverstein. This book has become one of Silverstein's best known titles and has been translated into more than 30 languages.

The Giving Tree is a tale about a relationship between a young boy and a tree in a forest. The tree always provides the boy with what he wants: branches on which to swing, shade in which to sit, apples to eat, branches with which to build a home. As the boy grows older he requires more and more of the tree. The tree loves the boy very much and gives him anything he asks for. In the ultimate act of self-sacrifice, the tree lets the boy cut her down so the boy can build a boat in which he can sail. The boy leaves the tree, now a stump. Many years later, the boy, now an old man, returns and the tree says, "I have nothing left to give you." The boy replies, " I do not need much now, just a quiet place to sit and rest." The tree then says, "Good! A tree stump is a great place to do just that! Come boy, sit down and be happy." The boy obliged and the tree was happy.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0060256656
ISBN-13: 978-0060840983
Author: Shel Silverstein
Genre: Children's Books
Publisher: Harper & Row
Date Published: 1964
Polls with this book
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?

"Rate these Children's Books"

by

First to Review

"This brings back memories!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists