|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Grapes of Wrath (book) » User review

The Grapes of Wrath

Classic novel published in 1939 and written by John Steinbeck

< read all 32 reviews

If you want to better understand the world we live in, read this book

  • Jun 17, 2010
Rating:
+5
Steinbeck knows how to speak to the soul. Throughout the pages of his book, truth after truth will resonate to the reader. It's like Steinbeck takes things that we all feel to be true but maybe have never consciously thought about and tells a story about them. Our society tends to have an unwritten belief that the harder we work the more success will come to us. Those who haven't achieved or those in poverty have just not worked hard enough yet. Steinbeck tells a story about a family who gives everything they have to make a good life for themselves and still live as victims of the system. He emphasizes unity and compassion to overcome the problems we've created for ourselves--we're all in this together so what's the point of making things harder for each other? Scarcity for others doesn't mean more abundance for me. Rather, abundance facilitates more abundance. Like with all classics, even though it is set during the Dust Bowl, the concepts covered in the book will be valuable for all generations to come.


 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
August 07, 2010
I agree, this is a book that is for all times. As long as the few control the fates of the many, this book will resonate.
 
June 17, 2010
Thanks for your review! I find this book speaks to the soul as well !
 
1
More The Grapes of Wrath (book) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
Without a doubt John Steinbeck's best work is The Grapes of Wrath and Steinbeck is a man who has written a lot of good books. The story takes place in typical Steinbeck setting: Great Depression era American and tells the tale of a family from Oklahoma, known as the derogatory 'Oakies', as they move out to the western coast after work dries up in Oklahoma and news spreads to them of a better life elsewhere.      The main focus of the story is the trials and tribulations …
review by . June 17, 2010
Slight-Spoiler Alert: But don't worry, it doesn't ruin the book :)      The Grapes of Wrath is, simply put, an American classic with a powerful message that resonates generation after generation. Set during the Dust Bowl, the novel tells the story of a family from Oklahoma and their journey to California, the promise land. On a superficial level, all characters are endearing icons of perseverance in the face of tribulation. Nonetheless, this book is acclaimed for its …
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2010
I first read this in high school. It blew me away then. It's Steinbeck's best.
Quick Tip by . August 26, 2010
This book is an epic, page-turner by a master of American Literature.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
American classic. Gritty tragedy. Watch the movie second to make sense of it.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
An amazing look at the dust bowl and just another testament to Steinbeck's impeccable ability to fully realize an era.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
If you have aspirations about being a great writer, you should read this book as it conveys all the elements of a superior novel.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Steinbeck is an amazing writer. Chosen as a subject of American Literature, he reveals the side of America that no one wanted to see. The dirty, hard, unforgiving side that is a reality for many.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I couldn't really get in to this story. not sure why it's such an American classic
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Would've preferred one perspective throughout, but thoroughly enjoyed the book!
About the reviewer

Ranked #967
Member Since: Jun 14, 2010
Last Login: Jun 18, 2010 08:10 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RomaNotamia
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Tags

Books, Cafe Libri, Fiction, Literature, Classics, John Steinbeck, Depression, Dust Bowl, Migrant Workers, Agricultural Workers

Details

Lists with this book
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists