|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Book » Reviews » The Green Mile (book) » User review

King's Best That I've Read So Far

  • Feb 17, 2006
Rating:
+5
"The Green Mile" is one of my favorite books. Though it's only the third King novel that I've read, I think it's safe to say that this is one of his best works. I've read "Carrie" and "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon," and both are great reads, but "The Green Mile" is my favorite King book so far.

The story runs the gamut of emotions. From the sick feeling when the reader finds out about the grisly deaths of two young girls, to the sorrow you feel when you realize what might have really happened and the joy experienced when an old friend is revealed near the end of the story. There are some great characters here as well, fleshed out to perfection so that the reader feels the emotions of each character. We are introduced to Paul Edgecombe, who is writing this serial, the enigmatic John Coffey, Brutal, Dean, Percy, the psychotic Wild Bill, and, of course, the simple Cajun man, Delacroix, and his best friend, Mr. Jingles.

As the story unfolds, you can't help but feel for the characters. I don't want to give away too many details, since most folks have probably read this book already or at least have seen the movie. All you really need to know is that these are some of the most emotion-laden characters you'll ever meet. For instance, you'll instantly feel sad for John Coffey and his tear-filled eyes as he asks Edgecombe if there's a light kept on at night because he is afraid of the dark. You'll also hate one particular character and probably rejoice when he gets his just desserts via a set-up partially pulled off with the help of Coffey.

Pick this one up if you want to read a great story. It isn't scary, which King is most known for, but it's just a wonderful tale that will move even the hardest heart to tears.

Highly recommended.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Green Mile (book) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
It was no secret that Stephen King owned the 80's.  He pumped out books such as Cujo, Christine, Pet Sematary, Misery and IT around this time.  Some of his most iconic work came out during the 80's.  As he moved into the 90's he was still quite a writer.  Although this particular time period you start to see a different side of King.  One that was a bit more thematic in his approach in some ways.  In spite of being a horror writer, some of King's most …
review by . June 30, 2010
Paul Edgecombe worked at the state penitentiary with the prisoners…and the electric chair. The Green Mile by Stephen King is the gripping novel that is told by an old man in a nursing home who recalls to events of 1932. This is my second Stephen King book and I wasn’t disappointed with this one. I have never read a book like this one before, so this was a good change.   I think people will like this story because it has good characters, a good plot, and funny at times. John …
review by . July 20, 2010
Miracle or Horror?
Stephen King has a problem but at the same time a gift. He has insomnia, and at the time he tries to sleep, that is the time when some great ideas pops. Green Mile was one of these perfect ideas that was made and remade over and over in his mind. Imagine if Green Mile instead of being that beautiful and edifying story, Stephen King would have decided to make a horrible tale with a big African guy who practices voodoo. It would be scary, but our great suspense author almost swaps the miracle for …
review by . July 02, 2010
      I enjoyed this book and the way it created an emotional involvement and proved that there's a very defined difference between good and evil.  Stephen King did a great job of introducing the characters.  The story had a dramatic ending and can easily cause some tears.  I would definitely read this again and feel that Stephen King is an excellent author.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
if you are wondering wich one is better, the movie ore the book. I can say both have the same impact. Beautiful story. I love to read something edifying like this.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Another great book. You fall in love with the main charactor. This book makes you really think about what we take for granted.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I enjoyed this book and the way it created an emotional involvement and proved that there's a very defined difference between good and evil. Stephen King did a great job of introducing the characters. The story had a dramatic ending and can easily cause some tears. I would definitely read this again and feel that Stephen King is an excellent author.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I find Stephen King's writing to be much more interesting when it's like the Green Mile. Much better than his regular horror novels.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Horribly sad, but quite beautiful.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
King at the top of his game. Originally published in monthly installments, the tale unfolds brilliantly, giving a fascinating look at people, at justice, and even at miracles. If you're not a horror/gore fan, this will let you see King as storyteller rather than boogeyman.
About the reviewer
Kendall Fontenot ()
Ranked #17
Despite looking extremely cool, I have to admit that I'm a dork. I grew up on the outskirts of the small town of Oberlin, LA. I have since relocated to the Lake Charles, LA area.I love my home state … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kfontenot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


When Stephen King originally wroteThe Green Mileas a series of six novellas, he didn't even know how the story would turn out. And it turned out to be of his finest yarns, tapping into what he does best: character-driven storytelling. The setting is the small "death house" of a Southern prison in 1932. The Green Mile is the hall with a floor "the color of tired old limes" that leads to "Old Sparky" (the electric chair). The charming narrator is an old man, a prison guard, looking back on the events decades later.

Maybe it's a little too cute (there's a smart prison mouse named Mr. Jingles), maybe the pathos is laid on a little thick, but it's hard to resist the colorful personalities and simple wonders of this supernatural tale. And it's not a bad choice for giving to someone who doesn't understand the appeal of Stephen King, because the one scene that is out-and-out gruesome (it involves "Old Sparky") can be easily skipped by the squeamish.

The Green Mile won a 1997 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel; and Tom Hanks stars in a film of the novel by Frank Darabont, the director of The Shawshank Redemption (from King's collection Different Seasons). --Fiona Webster --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1416524339
ISBN-13: 978-1416524335
Author: Stephen King
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Pocket
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists