|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Book » Reviews » The Green Mile (book) » User review

Miracle or Horror?

  • Jul 20, 2010
Rating:
+5
Stephen King has a problem but at the same time a gift. He has insomnia, and at the time he tries to sleep, that is the time when some great ideas pops. Green Mile was one of these perfect ideas that was made and remade over and over in his mind. Imagine if Green Mile instead of being that beautiful and edifying story, Stephen King would have decided to make a horrible tale with a big African guy who practices voodoo. It would be scary, but our great suspense author almost swaps the miracle for a nightmare while he was thinking about Green Mile concept.
I can just be thankful because he did the right decision and Green Mile came to be my favorite novel and also my favorite movie. Both are parallel good. I can watch and read it a hundred times. I know that many people would say that it was tragedy story but I prefer to take this as a reality. I think this is all about how we treat or judge precious people by their exterior, even when they are trying to help. Allusion or not, we did the same thing with the amazing and most pure person that ever exist in this world, called Jesus Christ.
The characters of this book are great and they make you read all the pages without be bored. Even the bad guy of the story entertains you a lot. Paul Edgecomb is the main character who tells the story and John Coffey is the big guy with a baby`s heart.
The book is inspirational, very emotional, and has some little details that complement the movie. I recommend his book for sensitive people, as you must to have an opened mouth to receive food you need to have an opened heart to experiment all that this book offers. If you are shallow there are some other books you can search, Twilight maybe.
Miracle or Horror? Miracle or Horror?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
December 20, 2010
Great review!
 
1
More The Green Mile (book) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
It was no secret that Stephen King owned the 80's.  He pumped out books such as Cujo, Christine, Pet Sematary, Misery and IT around this time.  Some of his most iconic work came out during the 80's.  As he moved into the 90's he was still quite a writer.  Although this particular time period you start to see a different side of King.  One that was a bit more thematic in his approach in some ways.  In spite of being a horror writer, some of King's most …
review by . June 30, 2010
Paul Edgecombe worked at the state penitentiary with the prisoners…and the electric chair. The Green Mile by Stephen King is the gripping novel that is told by an old man in a nursing home who recalls to events of 1932. This is my second Stephen King book and I wasn’t disappointed with this one. I have never read a book like this one before, so this was a good change.   I think people will like this story because it has good characters, a good plot, and funny at times. John …
review by . July 02, 2010
      I enjoyed this book and the way it created an emotional involvement and proved that there's a very defined difference between good and evil.  Stephen King did a great job of introducing the characters.  The story had a dramatic ending and can easily cause some tears.  I would definitely read this again and feel that Stephen King is an excellent author.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
if you are wondering wich one is better, the movie ore the book. I can say both have the same impact. Beautiful story. I love to read something edifying like this.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Another great book. You fall in love with the main charactor. This book makes you really think about what we take for granted.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I enjoyed this book and the way it created an emotional involvement and proved that there's a very defined difference between good and evil. Stephen King did a great job of introducing the characters. The story had a dramatic ending and can easily cause some tears. I would definitely read this again and feel that Stephen King is an excellent author.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I find Stephen King's writing to be much more interesting when it's like the Green Mile. Much better than his regular horror novels.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Horribly sad, but quite beautiful.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
King at the top of his game. Originally published in monthly installments, the tale unfolds brilliantly, giving a fascinating look at people, at justice, and even at miracles. If you're not a horror/gore fan, this will let you see King as storyteller rather than boogeyman.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Great King story that isn't so scary as it is affecting. The movie is the best King movie ever.
About the reviewer
Rick Fazollo ()
Ranked #867
   I read books
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
rickfazollo
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


When Stephen King originally wroteThe Green Mileas a series of six novellas, he didn't even know how the story would turn out. And it turned out to be of his finest yarns, tapping into what he does best: character-driven storytelling. The setting is the small "death house" of a Southern prison in 1932. The Green Mile is the hall with a floor "the color of tired old limes" that leads to "Old Sparky" (the electric chair). The charming narrator is an old man, a prison guard, looking back on the events decades later.

Maybe it's a little too cute (there's a smart prison mouse named Mr. Jingles), maybe the pathos is laid on a little thick, but it's hard to resist the colorful personalities and simple wonders of this supernatural tale. And it's not a bad choice for giving to someone who doesn't understand the appeal of Stephen King, because the one scene that is out-and-out gruesome (it involves "Old Sparky") can be easily skipped by the squeamish.

The Green Mile won a 1997 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel; and Tom Hanks stars in a film of the novel by Frank Darabont, the director of The Shawshank Redemption (from King's collection Different Seasons). --Fiona Webster --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1416524339
ISBN-13: 978-1416524335
Author: Stephen King
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Pocket
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists