|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Last Lecture » User review

A little guide to life.by Randy Pausch

< read all 9 reviews

life lessons

  • Jun 23, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
This book is a perfect read for people who take their lives for granted. This is written by a beloved college professor before he died. It talks about the bridges we gross, the walls that stop us, and the people that guide us. It is a truely inspirational book that i think every adult should read in their lifetime. it talks about how to go for your dreams no matter how impossible they seem. Life is too short so you have to take advantage of the time that you have becasue it goes by way to fast. it talks about surrounding yourself by the people you love, and try to inspire everyone that you encounter. It mostly talks about your dreams and how to achieve them, even the ones you make as a child because they are all inmportant. This was one of the best books i have read and i watched the lecture of it right after i was done reading it. its a must read for anyones list.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Last Lecture reviews
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
This book is great and it forces you to look at your own life and ask whether you are really appreciating life the way you should. Pausch is a great writer. So grateful for this book and my prayers are with his family.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
What an amazing man and a amazing book. One of my favorites.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Really puts the "big stuff" and "little stuff" into perspective. Organizes how one views life in its entirety.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This is a true story from someone dying of cancer..
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Yes, the book has some great moments, but it is overrated. If it weren't for the author's struggle with cancer and sad death, the book would never have become such a highly respected bestseller. Don't get me wrong – it's worth the read. Just don't expect to be fully transformed over the course of a short book.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Inspiring piece of writing.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
i think everyone should read this book. its a true inspiration
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
loved it
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
excellent
review by . June 19, 2010
This is a wonderful story of a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon University and his battle with pancreatic cancer.  Randy Pausch wants to share his life experience and the important lessons he's learned along the way with his children before he dies.  This experience is all compiled into one "Last Lecture" that Randy gives to a standing room only lecture hall at Carnegie Mellon.  The book highlights some great tidbits on how to make the most of one's …
About the reviewer

Ranked #2046
Member Since: Jun 22, 2010
Last Login: Jun 23, 2010 01:30 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bethany_Halligan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


"We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand."
--Randy Pausch

A lot of professors give talks titled "The Last Lecture." Professors are asked to consider their demise and to ruminate on what matters most to them. And while they speak, audiences can't help but mull the same question: What wisdom would we impart to the world if we knew it was our last chance? If we had to vanish tomorrow, what would we want as our legacy?

When Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, was asked to give such a lecture, he didn't have to imagine it as his last, since he had recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer. But the lecture he gave--"Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams"--wasn't about dying. It was about the importance of overcoming obstacles, of enabling the dreams of others, of seizing every moment (because "time is all you have...and you may find one day that you have less than you think"). It was a summation of everything Randy had come to believe. It was about living.

In this book, Randy Pausch has combined the humor, inspiration and intelligence that made his lecture such a phenomenon and given it an indelible form. It is a book that will be shared for generations to come.

Questions for Randy Pausch

We were shy about barging in on Randy Pausch's valuable time to ask him a few questions about his expansion of his famous Last Lecture into the book by the same name, but he was ...

view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 1401323251
ISBN-13: 978-1401323257
Author: Randy Pausch
Genre: Biographies & Memoirs, Entertainment
Publisher: Hyperion
Date Published: April 8, 2008
First to Review

"The Last Lecture"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists