|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Last Lecture » User review

A little guide to life.by Randy Pausch

< read all 9 reviews

I Don't Care Who You Are, Read This Book

  • Jan 27, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Family, no family. Kids, no kids. 18 years old, 75 years old. I don't care who you are, or what your situation. Reading this book will - in one way or another - change your outlook on life.

Randy takes you through his journey of learning of his illness, the writing of his last lecture, and the lecture itself. I was pleased how they put it all together because at times you can't tell if he is narrating or in the middle of part of his speech.

I lend this to his excellent ability to communicate. You can never really tell when he's presenting or just talking with you. Its amazing, really.

My wife and I read this to each other (I know, sappy, right?) during a short road trip to New Jersey. I'm glad we didn't get to the end while we were on the road. Rather, we had to finish the book at home in the living room. THANK GOD. I would have had to pull over the car and collect myself before driving again.

I'm not going to give anything away, but the end is touching for reasons other than you may think. It will change you in ways that you will not expect.

This book is profound, simple in thought, yet extremely powerful.


What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
August 10, 2009
Everything I've read so far has been amazing. I saw some of the live footage from the lecture on a dateline special one night and picked up the book when it first came out. I haven't had a chance to finish it - but your review inspired me to do so :)
 
February 05, 2009
Hmmm, the mysteriousness of what this book really is about really makes me want to read it. I'm already brewing up scenarios in my head of what the ending is.
 
1
More The Last Lecture reviews
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
This book is great and it forces you to look at your own life and ask whether you are really appreciating life the way you should. Pausch is a great writer. So grateful for this book and my prayers are with his family.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
What an amazing man and a amazing book. One of my favorites.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Really puts the "big stuff" and "little stuff" into perspective. Organizes how one views life in its entirety.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This is a true story from someone dying of cancer..
review by . June 23, 2010
This book is a perfect read for people who take their lives for granted. This is written by a beloved college professor before he died. It talks about the bridges we gross, the walls that stop us, and the people that guide us. It is a truely inspirational book that i think every adult should read in their lifetime. it talks about how to go for your dreams no matter how impossible they seem. Life is too short so you have to take advantage of the time that you have becasue it goes by way to fast. …
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Yes, the book has some great moments, but it is overrated. If it weren't for the author's struggle with cancer and sad death, the book would never have become such a highly respected bestseller. Don't get me wrong – it's worth the read. Just don't expect to be fully transformed over the course of a short book.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Inspiring piece of writing.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
i think everyone should read this book. its a true inspiration
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
loved it
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
excellent
About the reviewer
Levi Wardell ()
Ranked #288
Remember when you would use a command prompt to check your email?    Do you remember using a command prompt to open windows?     Those were the good ole days I … more
About this book

Wiki


"We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand."
--Randy Pausch

A lot of professors give talks titled "The Last Lecture." Professors are asked to consider their demise and to ruminate on what matters most to them. And while they speak, audiences can't help but mull the same question: What wisdom would we impart to the world if we knew it was our last chance? If we had to vanish tomorrow, what would we want as our legacy?

When Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, was asked to give such a lecture, he didn't have to imagine it as his last, since he had recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer. But the lecture he gave--"Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams"--wasn't about dying. It was about the importance of overcoming obstacles, of enabling the dreams of others, of seizing every moment (because "time is all you have...and you may find one day that you have less than you think"). It was a summation of everything Randy had come to believe. It was about living.

In this book, Randy Pausch has combined the humor, inspiration and intelligence that made his lecture such a phenomenon and given it an indelible form. It is a book that will be shared for generations to come.

Questions for Randy Pausch

We were shy about barging in on Randy Pausch's valuable time to ask him a few questions about his expansion of his famous Last Lecture into the book by the same name, but he was ...

view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 1401323251
ISBN-13: 978-1401323257
Author: Randy Pausch
Genre: Biographies & Memoirs, Entertainment
Publisher: Hyperion
Date Published: April 8, 2008
First to Review

"The Last Lecture"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists