|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Lord of the Rings (novel) » User review

The Lord of the Rings (novel)

J.R.R. Tolkien's classic, epic fantasy sequel to "The Hobbit", originally published in three volumes in 1954-1955.

< read all 53 reviews

Lord of the Rings- The Standard for All Fantasy Writing

  • Jun 26, 2010
Rating:
+5

There are many great fantasy writers. You have to like older guys like Sir Walter Scott and Michael Moorcock (which caracterizes how diverse the books really are). then there are the modern guys like Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind.

The best of these guys write in a fantasy world, but tell stunning real-life human tales. Moorcock's Elric struggled with inner demons and presented the question of how much of your own humanity is already written in and how much we can control, while Goodkind is an almost Ayn Randian struggle between persoanl individual freedom vs. tyranny and totaliarianism. Jordan created a messianic character in Rand, in which the world and it's various faction turn themselves upside  dowm, throwing the world into chaos and dis-order
.
Tolkien is about the struggle of good aginast a seemingly insurmountable evil. It's the story of how four hobbitts and their allies take on a huge evil. both within themselves in the guise of the ring, and also around them, with Sauron's orcs and sorcerers. Much of it was written in the dark days of WW2 Britain, so the reader, can guess where much of the imagery can come from.

Frodo inherits Bilbo's ring, and it slowly changes everything about him. He is joined by his three friends Sam, Pippin, and Merry, along with the powerful wizard Gandalf and a few other allies, most notably Strider, a great warrior. They travel through wars, are chased by monsters,and  are split up. There is treachery and differeing motives among their allies, and they run into obstacle after obstacle in a mission to destroy the ring.

One of the beauties of LOTR is the characters. You notice the transformation of Frodo from a simple hobbitt to a dark , obsessed and moody character the ring turns him into. There is the powerful wizard Gandalf, locked into his own struggle against evil,and there is also the reluctant hero Aragorn, who while avoiding his destiny, draws closer and clser to it.

Even better is the prose. Tolkien did not write the catchy prose that would instantly draw readers in. LOTR was only a part of a larger milleu of Tolkien, Middle Earth. Life existed long before the hobbitts, and their struggle is merely the culmination of many, many years of struggle over the ring and between good and evil. There are many references toi things that happened in other biiks and stories, and the prose is dense. You need to be committed and dedicated to reading this, much like Frodo is to getting rid of the ring. But once you are in Tolkien's grasp, you are his. It is an unforgettable reading experience.

He never gets overly heavy-handed about his writing philosphy, avoiding the sometimes heavy-handedness of Goodkind, and he never loses control of the various threads, as Jordan seemingly does. It reads like an old history book not a mere story.

It is the standard for all fantasy writing. as fantastic as the battles and sorcery are, he never forgets the muman angele of it. The huge struggle against seemingly invincible odds, the battle between good and evil, and the tough lessons of self-realization, among others. it is all here, and is in a grand scale.

 

Lord of the Rings- The Standard for All Fantasy Writing

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 30, 2010
I agree with you about Tolkien's fantasy series being the standard for all writings that followed. What a master storyteller! I'm nervous to tackle a review on it, but you did a marvelous job with this one! Great writing!
 
1
More The Lord of the Rings (novel) reviews
review by . June 17, 2010
I must confess that I didn't read the Lord of the Rings trilogy until after the first movie was released. Now it's one of several books that I re-read often, and I wish I'd read it long ago. The story is a classic one--the constant war between good and evil. The telling is where Lord of the Rings differs from similar plots. The setting is comprised of vast, largely unexplored lands divided into small regions occupied primarily by their own particular type of inhabitant. Tolkien has woven …
Quick Tip by . November 05, 2010
They read the Hobbit to me at school; I think I didn't like being read to so I refused to read Lord of the Rings till I was at college and a friend recommended it. Good friend. I was hooked.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
Okay. Don't get mad that this is popular. Take a read. Develops a love of words and worldbuilding, and a truly deep sense of mythology, one infused with moral and elemental significance.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Doesn't get much better than this.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
give yourself a rainy weekend and you'll get so into this fantasy that you will not leave the house!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
This book was way ahead of its time. It's too bad the genius of it wasn't realized until after he died. With the exception of the first 30 or so pages on pipeweed, the book is very difficult to put down.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
What a wonderful fantasy! This ranks in my top ten fantasy books.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
the origional epic tale....one of the greatest stories out there
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
I didn't particularly enjoy his writing style but I can understand why it's a classic!
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
another excellent book..... the movie was okay too.. but the book....is much better
About the reviewer

Ranked #782
Member Since: Jun 26, 2010
Last Login: Jul 2, 2010 05:01 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sbooth64
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

"One Ring to rule them all,
One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all
And in the darkness bind them"


In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell by chance into the hands of the hobbit Bilbo Baggins.

From Sauron's fastness in the Dark Tower of Mordor, his power spread far and wide. Sauron gathered all the Great Rings to him, but always he searched for the One Ring that would complete his dominion.

When Bilbo reached his eleventy-first birthday he disappeared, bequeathing to his young cousin Frodo the Ruling Ring and a perilous quest: to journey across Middle-earth, deep into the shadow of the Dark Lord, and destroy the Ring by casting it into the Cracks of Doom.

The Lord of the Rings tells of the great quest undertaken by Frodo and the Fellowship of the Ring: Gandalf the Wizard; the hobbits Merry, Pippin, and Sam; Gimli the Dwarf; Legolas the Elf; Boromir of Gondor; and a tall, mysterious stranger called Strider.

 
About the Author
J.R.R. Tolkien (1892–1973), beloved throughout the world as the creator of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, was a professor of Anglo-Saxon at Oxford, a fellow of Pembroke College, and a fellow of Merton College until his retirement in ...
view wiki

Details

Author: John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (J.R.R. Tolkien)
Genre: Classic Literature, Fantasy, Novel, Epic Adventure, Mythopoeia
Publisher: Allen & Unwin, Ballantine Books, Houghton Mifflin
Date Published: 1954 and 1955
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
A Swiftly Tilting Planet

The Best Fantasy Novels

by

The Children of Húrin

Favorite Literary Works by Tolkien

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists