|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Lord of the Rings (novel) » User review

The Lord of the Rings (novel)

J.R.R. Tolkien's classic, epic fantasy sequel to "The Hobbit", originally published in three volumes in 1954-1955.

< read all 53 reviews

Classic.

  • Jun 29, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

The only word I can think of to fully summarize the Lord of the Rings is "Classic."

I remember growing up my dad read The Hobbit out loud to my brothers and me, and we loved it. My favorite aspect of the novel was Smaug because I absolutely loved dragons and magical things as most children do. A while later when my dad told us about The Lord of the Rings my brothers were excited for him to read it to us. I asked him if there were any dragons in it, he said no, and sadly because of this I chose not to listen to him read it.

A few months before the first movie came out I figured it was time to pull out the trilogy and finally give it a try. I had grown out of my dragon phase and was ready to fall in love with The Lord of the Rings!

To anyone who looks at the length of the novels or finds the language daunting, don't just pass on these wonderful books. At times the language is heavy and hard to get through, but if you stick with it you will be left with an amazing story of good versus evil. If you don't think you can handle reading such thick books get a friend to read it with you out loud. This is truly a story that you will enjoy with a good friend and a cup of tea!

Tolkien creates not just a story but an entire world that is beautiful, captivating, and simply magical. There is something for every different kind of person be it wizards, elves, epic battles, fantastical creatures and even romance. One great thing about these novels is that they are fiction and they are based in magically unreal characters/creatures and yet their truths about humanity are completely interwoven with every aspect of the novel.  

If you haven't read The Lord of the Rings yet you have nothing to lose and everything to gain by picking up a copy and letting the adventure unfold; I dare you not to love it!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Lord of the Rings (novel) reviews
review by . June 17, 2010
I must confess that I didn't read the Lord of the Rings trilogy until after the first movie was released. Now it's one of several books that I re-read often, and I wish I'd read it long ago. The story is a classic one--the constant war between good and evil. The telling is where Lord of the Rings differs from similar plots. The setting is comprised of vast, largely unexplored lands divided into small regions occupied primarily by their own particular type of inhabitant. Tolkien has woven …
Quick Tip by . November 05, 2010
They read the Hobbit to me at school; I think I didn't like being read to so I refused to read Lord of the Rings till I was at college and a friend recommended it. Good friend. I was hooked.
review by . June 26, 2010
Lord of the Rings- The Standard for All Fantasy Writing
There are many great fantasy writers. You have to like older guys like Sir Walter Scott and Michael Moorcock (which caracterizes how diverse the books really are). then there are the modern guys like Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind.      The best of these guys write in a fantasy world, but tell stunning real-life human tales. Moorcock's Elric struggled with inner demons and presented the question of how much of your own humanity is already written in and how much we …
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
Okay. Don't get mad that this is popular. Take a read. Develops a love of words and worldbuilding, and a truly deep sense of mythology, one infused with moral and elemental significance.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Doesn't get much better than this.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
give yourself a rainy weekend and you'll get so into this fantasy that you will not leave the house!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
This book was way ahead of its time. It's too bad the genius of it wasn't realized until after he died. With the exception of the first 30 or so pages on pipeweed, the book is very difficult to put down.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
What a wonderful fantasy! This ranks in my top ten fantasy books.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
the origional epic tale....one of the greatest stories out there
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
I didn't particularly enjoy his writing style but I can understand why it's a classic!
About the reviewer
Angelina Montagna Venturino ()
Ranked #1400
Member Since: Jun 26, 2010
Last Login: Jul 14, 2010 09:55 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ginapoo
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

"One Ring to rule them all,
One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all
And in the darkness bind them"


In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell by chance into the hands of the hobbit Bilbo Baggins.

From Sauron's fastness in the Dark Tower of Mordor, his power spread far and wide. Sauron gathered all the Great Rings to him, but always he searched for the One Ring that would complete his dominion.

When Bilbo reached his eleventy-first birthday he disappeared, bequeathing to his young cousin Frodo the Ruling Ring and a perilous quest: to journey across Middle-earth, deep into the shadow of the Dark Lord, and destroy the Ring by casting it into the Cracks of Doom.

The Lord of the Rings tells of the great quest undertaken by Frodo and the Fellowship of the Ring: Gandalf the Wizard; the hobbits Merry, Pippin, and Sam; Gimli the Dwarf; Legolas the Elf; Boromir of Gondor; and a tall, mysterious stranger called Strider.

 
About the Author
J.R.R. Tolkien (1892–1973), beloved throughout the world as the creator of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, was a professor of Anglo-Saxon at Oxford, a fellow of Pembroke College, and a fellow of Merton College until his retirement in ...
view wiki

Details

Author: John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (J.R.R. Tolkien)
Genre: Classic Literature, Fantasy, Novel, Epic Adventure, Mythopoeia
Publisher: Allen & Unwin, Ballantine Books, Houghton Mifflin
Date Published: 1954 and 1955
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
A Swiftly Tilting Planet

The Best Fantasy Novels

by

The Children of Húrin

Favorite Literary Works by Tolkien

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists