|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Member of the Wedding » User review

Member of the Wedding

Carson McCuller's beautiful coming of age story

< read all 5 reviews

My favorite Carson McCuller's book

  • Apr 29, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
This book usually gets overshadowed by her other books like Ballad of the Sad Cafe, or The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, but for me, this is her best book.  I'm not even sure I can really describe it since it's about so many things.  The story line is about a young girl who wants to play some kind of part in the celebrations surrounding her brother's wedding, but what it's really about is belonging to something.

Member of the Wedding, The

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 26, 2009
How would you say that this book compares to other works by the author? Is it better than The Heart is a Lonely Hunter?
 
1
More The Member of the Wedding reviews
review by . June 17, 2010
The Member of the Wedding is a carefully crafted story about a young girl on the verge of adolescence who is looking for a place to belong. Twelve-year-old Frankie Addams is bored and restless in her small Southern town in the closing days of World War II. The summer is dragging, and she spends most of her time with her widowed father’s housekeeper, Berenice Sadie Brown, and her young cousin, John Henry, when she longs to join the company of the older neighborhood girls. They snub her as …
review by . July 06, 2010
I somehow discovered Carson McCullers much too late. First, I read the Heart is a Lonely Hunter and began reading everything I could get my hands on by her. Being from the south, albeit from a much different time, I somehow relate to her characters, her style of writing, but especially the way she describes her settings - typically sleepy, humid southern towns. The Member of the Wedding was the second novel by McCullers that I read, and although it does not have the level of action that something …
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
good book read in college
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Everyone knows at least someone who is like Frankie Adams. As a result, Carson McCullers' best book of all will make you smile and feel sentimental too!
About the reviewer
Court ()
Ranked #491
Member Since: Apr 28, 2008
Last Login: Jul 29, 2009 05:15 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Cocopuffs
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

Genre: Literature & Fiction

Polls with this book
A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists