|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Vampires » Reviews » The Mortal Instruments Series » User review

City of Bones

a book series by Cassandra Clare

< read all 5 reviews

Amazing Books

  • Jun 24, 2010
Rating:
+5
Clary is your average teenage girl... or so she thinks until she goes to a night club and sees three teenagers slay a demon. The Shadowhunters are a  group of people trying to keep the world safe from the evils that lurk in the shadows. Clary finds out that her mother is was a Shadowhunter  and had taken Clary away from that life when she was a baby. Her mother had taken her to a Sorcerer and had her charmed, so that she would forget anything supernatural she saw, every year on her birthday. Unfortunately she was unable to take her on her 16th birthday. Days after Clary finds out what she is her mother disappears. So Clary goes to the three teenage Shadowhunters she met at the club, Isabel, Alex, and Jace, hoping for some answers. She stays them while they try to figure out this mystery. When the fabled Mortal Instruments turn out to be part connected to her mothers disappearance everything gets even more confusing. Everyday her relationship with Jace gets stronger until she is in love with him. Unfortunately an revelation at the end of the first book makes it impossible for them to ever be together. A revelation that cause be to throw a book at the wall for the first time ever. If you keep reading to the end of the series it's okay again but it was very upsetting to me that they couldn't be together. These books were very hard for me to put down and I read them each in a day. These are very good books for fans of Twilight and Buffy. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More The Mortal Instruments Series reviews
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Great book, for those who love fantasy. Very suspenseful but simple to read.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
I liked the beginning, enjoyed the characters, but this last chapter unthreaded the entire book and left me discontent.
review by . September 03, 2009
I have to be honest.  As bad as the Twilight series is... one can actually read those books and actually push through them.  The Mortal Instruments?  Not so much.  This review centers primarily on the first book in the series: City of Bones.  It's the only one I read.  And if one creates a data point for it, I'll happily move this review over there.  Until then, this will do.      I pick up a lot of young adult literature.  …
review by . May 11, 2009
Buffy Summers has got nothing on Clary Fray! And who needs Angel when you have Jace Wayland on your side? Cassandra Clare's The Mortal Instruments has everything that Buffy has and more! Complicated relationships? Check! Demons, Vampires and Werewolves? Check! Warlocks? Check!!    Cassandra Clare has created a fantastic world that is right in front of our noses; we just can't see it... yet.  Clarissa Fray thinks that she's a normal teenager, and her mother has gone …
About the reviewer
Erin Williams ()
Ranked #1834
I love Books! My favorite books are the Twilight Saga, The Mortal Instruments Series, The Hunger Games Trilogy, and everything by Tamora Pierce!! I also loove to cook, bake, sew, knit, and crochet.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Hush42
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Hush42
About this book

Wiki

Book One: City of Bones
Book Two: City of Ashes
Book Three: City of Glass
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: Mortal Instruments Boxed Set (hbk.): 1416997857
ISBN-13: Mortal Instruments Boxed Set (hbk.): 9781416997856
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Polls with this book
Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, Book 1)

Favorite Vampire Ficiton - YA & Adult

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists