|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by aztec13

  • Jun 15, 2010
This was such a good book, though Eco can be difficult to follow on occasion. Worth the effort, though.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Name of the Rose reviews
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
A difficult but intreguing read. Keep you Lanit dictionary nearby.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Loved it. Eco certainly knows how to pick his settings. A fantastic blend of suspense and erudition
review by . June 18, 2009
Narrated by the 80-year-old Benedictine monk Adso, "The Name of the Rose" relates events that occurred over a one-week period in 1327 when Adso (then an 18-year-old novice) and his master, the English Franciscan monk William of Baskerville, visited an abbey in northern Italy. The action takes place during the controversy over Apostolic poverty that occurred between the Franciscans and Dominicans, and during the course of the story a Papal legation including the inquisitor Bernard Gui arrives to …
About the reviewer
Anna ()
Ranked #651
Member Since: Jun 15, 2010
Last Login: Jun 17, 2010 09:53 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
aztec13
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

 Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges. The Name of the Rose, which sold 50 million copies worldwide, is an experimental medieval whodunit set in a monastic library. In 1327, Brother William of Baskerville arrives to investigate heresy among the monks in an Italian abbey; a series of bizarre murders overshadows the mission. Within the mystery is a tale of books, librarians, patrons, censorship, and the search for truth in a period of tension between the Papacy and the Holy Roman Empire. The book became a hit despite some obscure passages and allusions. This deftly abridged version, ably performed by Theodore Bikel, retains the genius of the original but is far more accessible. Foucault's Pendulum, Eco's second novel, is a bit irritating. The plot consists of three Milan editors who concoct a series on the occult for an unscrupulous publishing house that Eco ridicules mercilessly. The work details medieval phenomena including the Knights Templar, an ancient order with a scheme to dominate the world. Unfortunately, few listeners will make sense of this failed thriller. The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale that begins with a shipwreck in 1643. Roberta della Griva survives and boards another ship only to find himself trapped. Flashbacks give us Renaissance battles, the French court, spies, intriguing love affairs, and the attempt to solve the problem of ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0307264890 (hbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780307264893 (hbk.)
Author: Umberto Eco
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Date Published: September 26, 2006
Format: Translated from the Italian by William Weaver ; with an introduction by David Lodge
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists