|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The New Irish Table: 70 Contemporary Recipes » User review

Superb in Every way

  • Dec 26, 2010
Rating:
+5

The New Irish Table is a treasure of a book featuring gorgeous photos of Ireland taken by Ms. Johnson and 70 recipes from Irish hoteliers, country house chefs and others, both in Ireland and the States.
An introduction explains Ms. Johnson’s Irish heritage and her first trip to Ireland in 1984. Food, she explained was the last thing on her mind, however, in subsequent visits, a culinary revolution had ensued, and the entire country was clamoring for traditional foods served in exciting new ways.

Ireland has always had an abundance of the world’s finest dairy products, meats and fish, but the food suffered from poor cooking and poor presentation. That began to change in the early eighties. Myrtle Allen was a pioneer in the Irish Country House B&B trade with an emphasis on fresh, local food. Since then, superb cuisine has taken the country by storm. In this colorful volume, Ms. Johnson offers recipes to bring Ireland to your own home with staples such as Colcannon, the potato and cabbage treat, to brown bread creme brulee to smoked salmon. Many of the dishes use Farmhouse cheeses. One I’m particularly interested to try is a potato pancake with Cashel Blue.

The book covers appetizers, starters, meats and fish, side dishes and sweets. You’ll find recipes using black pudding and pork belly, but also wonderful roast breast of duck and lamb shanks.

The photography is superb, both for the dishes and the scenery. Apparently Ms. Johnson has tastes similar to me as many of the photos are of pplaces I’ve been, restaurants where I’ve eaten (The Farm Gate in Midleton, County Cork and McDonagh’s in Galway.)

While the emphasis is on the foods of West Cork, there are also recipes from other regions including Northern Ireland. Besides an index, there’s a section in the back of the book telling where to get some of the specialty foods listed. Ms. Johnson also offers suitable substitutions for foods only available in Ireland.

A wonderful book for the photos and the recipes. You’ll not want to be without this one.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
32
Post a Comment
August 03, 2011
I look forward to the corn beef cabbage sandwich on St. Patrick's Day.
 
February 10, 2011
I've read this and loved it - along with a few Irish food books I picked up while in Ireland last June. It always amazes me when people are shocked to find out that I had amazing food whilst in Ireland. tsk tsk tsk!
February 10, 2011
Yes, I found this true as early as 1989 when I made my first of many visits. Ever since, I've had a love affair with really good Irish food, which is why I bought this book.
 
December 27, 2010
This is actually on my reading list. I hope to get to it sometime in 2011 :-)
 
December 27, 2010
Devora: I was enchanted by this book. The recipes are simple but with excellent ingredients and the pictures are wonderful. I admit to a bit of prejudice: I'm the Ireland for Visitors Guide (www.irelandforvisitors.com) so I have a vested interest in wonderful irish and Irish-interest books. This one's a keeper.
 
December 27, 2010
Mmmm, this sounds delicious! I've had great food at Irish pubs before, so I'm looking forward to checking this out, especially the brown bread creme brulee!
 
1
About the reviewer
Suzanne Barrett ()
Ranked #121
A former facility engineer and Kensington author, Suzanne believes in sharing stories of romance and adventure spiced with a bit of mystery and intrigue. Suzanne and her husband live in the Santa Cruz … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Suzanne_Barrett
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Johnson (The Irish Heritage Cookbook) returns once more to her roots and food heritage, this time presenting a volume that showcases the best of the new Irish cuisine and chefs. Based on many time-honored dishes and ingredients, recipes have been updated for the modern palate and more health-conscious diet without losing any of the wonderful flavor of the traditional elements. From the historic mainstay, the potato, used with rosemary and sea salt in the simple yet tasty Accordion Potatoes, and the more time-consuming Blue Cheese Potato Cake with its Eastern Europe influence to the robust Braised Lamb Shanks with Roasted Garden Vegetables, the recipes displays the best foods Ireland has to offer. Traditional dishes include versions of Boxty, the old favorite of both Irish and English alike, Sticky Toffee Pudding, and Black Pudding. Interspersed are wonderful full-color photos that demonstrate the finished dishes, encompass Ireland's green fields and rugged scenery and illustrate the anecdotes and explanations that round out the book. Among these are fascinating insights into Irish Cheese and Wine, Irish Stout and the Kinsale International Gourmet Festival-all of which wonderfully add color and background to this beautifully designed book.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.
view wiki

Tags

Books, Cookbooks, Irish Cuisine

Details

Date Published: January 1, 2003

First to Review

"Superb in Every way"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists