|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Notebook » User review

The Notebook [Mass Market Paperback]

A book by Nicholas Sparks.

< read all 4 reviews

Enduring Love: The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

  • Jul 25, 2011
Rating:
+4

When summer comes along there seems to be a need to read a romance novel.  I read The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks before and had seen the movie but I decided to re-read it.  It is a very quick read, and it leaves you feeling warm and fuzzy. 

The book begins with the narrator giving a brief introduction of himself.  He is an eighty year old man who lives in a nursing home.  He enters a room to read to a woman who is crying, then the love story begins.   

Noah Calhoun met the girl of his dreams in Allison (Allie) Nelson one summer in North Carolina.  They came from different worlds, he was a working class man and she was a socialite.  They fell in love and at summer's end she returned to her home in Raleigh.  Noah wrote to her for years only to be heartbroken at the lack of a response from her.  The story progresses through their tale and eventually leads to their reuniting years later.  As we follow the story we come to find out that the narrator is Noah and the woman he reads to is Allie.  Their love story comes full circle in the end and we learn the lesson of enduring love.

Nicholas Sparks does a great job in creating the character of Noah.  He is such a sexy character, smart, romantic, strong and hardworking.  He is honest, straightforward and when he loves a woman, he loves her forever.

This was the second time I read the book and it still managed to give me that warm fuzzy feeling.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for feel good summer romance.

Enduring Love: The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
February 13, 2012
Thanks for sharing !
 
July 27, 2011
I loved the movie, but now it sounds like I'm going to need to read the book, too! Thanks for sharing, Lisa :)
July 27, 2011
Thanks Devora, I did enjoy both - but as you know books are always better!
July 27, 2011
True! I've only ever seen one movie that I thought was better than the book -- Trainspotting. They were actually both really different though!
July 27, 2011
I was surprised to find that I liked the movie Julie and Julia better than the book. It happens...but not often!
 
July 26, 2011
Very beautiful review. I absolutely adore this film! I've been meaning to read this one. I hear it's one of Sparks' best works.
July 27, 2011
Thank you Adrianna. I also loved the movie which did follow the book closely. I read it once before watching the movie and then after I watched the movie and the hard part is that my characters that I create in my head are usually so much better. I did not think young Noah was that great in the movie but they did great with old Noah, and both young and old Allie. Thanks for reading my review!
July 27, 2011
I loved the movie...it always makes me cry! I really should read the book, especially since you say it follows the film rather nicely. I got a little stuck on "Dear John" by Sparks, which I haven't finished. It's not engaging me as much as I hoped it would.

Interesting what you say about the characters! I loved all the people they got to play the roles in the film. Of course, I have no book comparison to make. It's pretty cool that you imagined the characters a certain way!

And no problem. I love reading reviews on Lunch, especially those in my community, lol. I've just been a little crazy busy with a move to do much reading and writing myself. Been a little frustrating. I'm going to be sending out the monthly newsletter soon. I hope you don't mind if I feature this review on our homepage and in the email!
July 27, 2011
I cried when I saw the movie too...I cried when I first read the book. I did not cry the second time but that was because I could see the movie playing in my head simultaneously. I am actually trying to read all of the Nicholas Sparks books. (I like to do that - read all the books from one author if I like them.) I have read some of them but I like to go in order they were written - that is why I read The Notebook again and I am now re-reading Message in a Bottle....another great one of his. I have not read Dear John but I will get to it. I do have a very active imagination and I try to read the books before seeing the movies (consequently I have to watch movies way later than their release.) I find that the characters I create in my head are much better than those cast. Movie versions of books usually disappoint me. I do not mind you using this review. Thanks!
August 01, 2011
I'm worried that the book won't have as much of a profound affect since I have seen the film already. I guess time will tell. Let me know what you think of "Dear John" when you get there! One of these days I will try to finish it, lol. I think it's neat that you are reading all the books written by Sparks! I have a badge you can try to earn too: http://community.cafelibri.com/badges/Sparks-18066-74-1-1.html Let me know if there are some Sparks books missing from the list too. I'm not an expert, but I can add the missing topics for you and other members!
August 02, 2011
I will check it out! Thanks! I think that it probably won't affect you as much because you have seen the movie...always ruins it for me. Both are good though.
August 02, 2011
Yeah, I'm afraid of that. Oh well! If the book is as good and even better than the movie, I'm sure I will enjoy it!
 
1
More The Notebook reviews
review by . June 30, 2010
The Notebook is a book that showed me how beautiful "true love" really is. A man named Noah and his wife are reliving their wonderful life story everyday together because his wife can no longer remember. The story of their love takes place in the south back in the 40's. Noah met his wife and instantly loved her, however his wife's first notion was to marry another man who had more money and a better job. Noah would stop at nothing until he got his girl... After time and time and …
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
I'm not one to go for love stories but the THE NOTEBOOK is one of the best little novels I've read in quite some time. It's a book about patience, perseverance, depth of character, and love. The book is evocative and really tugs at the heartstrings, from the early unrequited love of Noah Calhoun, to love found, to his ultimate acts of devotion in his old age. Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
this book was really great. such a powerful love story. i personally enjoyed it more than the movie, although the movie was great as well! :)
About the reviewer
About this book

Wiki

"Somewhere," muses Noah Calhoun, while sitting on his porch in the moonight, "there were people making love."The Notebook, a Southern-fried story of love-lost-and-found-again, revolves around a single time-honored romantic dilemma: will beautiful Allison Nelson stay with Mr. Respectability (to whom she happens to be engaged), or will she choose Noah, the romantic rascal she left so many years ago?--This text refers to theHardcoveredition.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0446605239
ISBN-13: 978-0446605236
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Warner Books
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists