|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Official John Wayne Reference Book » User review

Everything you need to know about John Wayne

  • Jun 19, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I got this book when I was in 7th grade. I had to do a research paper on any famous person and, just to be different, I chose John Wayne. I didn't know much about him at the time. I'd seen a few of his movies on TV but that was it. I checked out several biographies on him from the library & in researching his life, I discovered what an incredible person he was, & I became a fan.

This book starts out with some biographical information on the early days of John Wayne's career.  Then, it moves on to trivia questions & answers for each of his films, starting with Stagecoach (1939) & ending with The Shootist (1976).  Next are pages of interesting tid-bits on his life, quotes, anecdotes, etc.  It also gives a brief family history of marriages & children, lists of co-stars, directors, TV appearances...pretty much anything you'd ever want to know about the man and/or his career.  Also featured throughout the book are some great photographs of the Duke throughout his career.  (No one ever mentions John Wayne when speaking of good-looking leading men but when he first started out in the 1920's-1930's, he was pretty darn handsome.)   

This is probably one of the most used books that I own. It's full of so many fun facts on the man and his movies. I'm in the process of collecting all of his movies on DVD and the list in the back of the book is extremely helpful. This is a great book for any John Wayne fan or for someone interested in classic movies and movie stars.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
June 19, 2009
I was never a John Wayne fan although I did like some of his movie. RED RIVER was a very early one that was a big favorite. Then there was a much later one, RIO BRAVO, along with HATARI that I never get tired of watching. I have my own little idiosuncrasies though. I was a big Audie Murphy fan after seeing the highly sanitized version of his autobiography TO HELL AND BACK when I was 11 and then reading the book version afterwards. He was just a kid when he joined the army--under age in fact, and war wasn't exactly the glorious thing he thought it was going to be after watching all those movies.
June 19, 2009
Talk about a wake-up call...poor kid. He's made some good movies. I remember watching an Audie Murphy marathon on TCM many years ago. It was mostly westerns & I can't remember ever seeing To Hell and Back.
June 20, 2009
Its probably the best one to catch especially if you've read the autobiography too. Its very revealing, and very sad too. Afterwards he could never sleep unless he had a gun underneath his pillow.
June 20, 2009
That is sad. Both of my grandfathers fought in WWII. One was in the Navy, was at Pearl Harbor when it was bombed, & stayed in the Navy until after the Korean War. He always enjoyed telling war stories to whomever would listen (strangely never to me, though, the only one I remember him telling me is about mermaids singing to the sailors at some port in Sweden or Norway). My other grandpa was in the Army & he never spoke much about his time overseas. I think it bothered him a lot.
June 20, 2009
That's  odd, I mean about the mermaids singing to the sailors at some port in Sweden or Norway. There is actually a fairly good film having to do with that subject called SHE CREATURE that was produced by the Stan Winston Studios. Its very atmospheric and has absolutely nothing to do with the earlier film of the same title. I highly recommend it.
June 20, 2009
If you mean the one about the people who catch a mermaid to use as a sideshow exhibit & she ends up tormenting them on their ship, I've seen it. I'm fascinated by mermaid mythology.
June 20, 2009
I think that's the one. It was completely different from anything I had ever seen produced on the subject before--beautiful and yet completely horriffing. Very original.
June 21, 2009
Now that I think about it, I think I only got to see the last half hour or so. It was pretty creepy, at that. I think the mermaid ended up impregnating the woman, or something, after killing all the men.
 
1
About the reviewer
Jamie ()
Ranked #177
Hello Everyone,    I live in Missouri, which is almost exactly in the middle of the United States. Many people refer to it as "Misery" but I think it's a great place to live. I live … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
peekablue
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Tags

Details

Author: Charles John Kieskalt
Publisher: Citadel Press
Date Published: September 1985
ISBN: 0806514434
Format: Paperback
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists