|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by aztec13

  • Jun 15, 2010
An exciting look at English court life and the machinations employed by those closest to the throne to expand their wealth and power.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
5
Post a Comment
October 01, 2010
A quick tip to be sure. But good quality. You squeeze a lot of useful REAL information into a single sentence. Much more valuable to me than a simple statement that you enjoyed the book. Good job!
 
1
More The Other Boleyn Girl (book) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
I could not put this book down! It had every aspect of a great read. It was disturbing, interesting, sweet, backbiting, and encompasses all of that with a bit of truth. The story of Anne Boleyn isn't completely accurate, but there's a lot in the history that is still unknown. The main points were fairly on track. I owned this book for months without picking it up and then the day I did I read the entire thing almost continuously. When not reading, it captured my mind and imagination and …
review by . July 22, 2010
   This was the first book of Phillipa Gregory's that I read, and it lead to my enthusiastic enjoyment of her others. This book, while following the known historical facts of the Boleyn women, illustrates the emotion and personalities associated with the schemes and betrayals everyone was involved in the Boleyns' and King Henry VII's lives.  The book is well written and captivates the reader's attention immediately. If you have not yet experienced Gregory's work, …
review by . July 12, 2010
I love this book because it gives you the scoop on the Henry VIII situation that is so famous, but also gives you a perspective on the Bolelyn family and the female perspective of that era.  It is perfect for those interested in history, but who fall asleep reading history books.  It also "colors" the history so that there is more drama and plot than history books. 
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
i only read the book once and if i remember right it was pretty good, and the movie was pretty entertaining.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
This is a good historical rendition of one of Henry's VIIIs tragic wives.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
A fascinating look at Anne Boleyn, a woman at the crossroads of significant changes in Western society.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
I am a huge fan of historical fiction, and definitely a sucker for the real-life soap opera that was the Tudor family, and although I am sure that The Other Boleyn Girl is not the most strictly historical source for information on Anne Boleyn it is certainly another interesting take on what the personal details that we may never know the truth of may have been.
review by . July 08, 2010
      Phillipa Gregory always writes detailed and entertaining (sex, scandal, love, etc) novels about long-ago english royalty, and "the other boleyn girl" is my favorite. I'm a sucker for this kind of stuff. The books are written in such a way that almost imagine she had read the character's most personal diaries. Though  they are long they go fast, and keep up a good level of suspense.   Set in the time of Henry the 8th, "boleyn girl" …
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Such a great book AND movie. This story can really suck you in and make you feel like you were part of the story. It's intense and keeps you guessing.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
If you have ever been jealous of a sibling, and love romance and revenge, a great read! Also a great movie but books always beat the shows!
About the reviewer
Anna ()
Ranked #655
Member Since: Jun 15, 2010
Last Login: Jun 17, 2010 09:53 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
aztec13
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The daughters of a ruthlessly ambitious family, Mary and Anne Boleyn are sent to the court of Henry VIII to attract the attention of the king, who first takes Mary as his mistress, in which role she bears him an illegitimate son, and then Anne as his wife. Originally in paperback.
view wiki

Details

Author: Philippa Gregory

Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists