|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Phantom Tollbooth » User review

The Phantom Tollbooth

A children's adventure novel and a modern fairy tale published in 1961, written by Norton Juster and illustrated by Jules Feiffer.

< read all 14 reviews

Childhood Classic, Always a Joy to Revisit

  • Jun 21, 2010
Rating:
+5
In terms of structure and basic plotline, this novel is very comparable to Lewis Carrol's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass.  Both revolve around a child protagonist who makes an epic journey through an imaginary world.  Additionally, both include a cast of fantastical characters who represent to a certain degree different philosophical concepts or embody various worldviews.  However, as much as I view Alice as a classic, I've always been more captivated by Norton Juster's Phantom Tollbooth.

The main reason I prefer Phantom Tollbooth is that I feel the child/adventurer character is more developed and feels more relate-able.  Milo is a bored and dissatisfied (probably slightly spoiled and insulated) young boy who is really unmotivated to expand his horizons.  His journey begins when he receives a mysterious package, which he opens and assembles mainly because he has nothing better to do.  He soon finds himself transported to an alternate reality, where abstract concepts such as language and mathematics are given physical manifestation.

This is another reason I enjoy this book over Alice - the fantastical elements are less based in the realm of nonsense for its own sake.  Instead, they stem from imaginative constructions that are a mix of classic fairy tales and schoolroom lessons.  In my opinion, this is what makes The Phantom Tollbooth an amazing read for kids and adults alike.  It shows the importance of imagination and taking initiative, as well as subtly offering connections between knowledge and real life.

Lastly, the illustrations (I am usually on the fence about illustrated novels) are very compelling.  Gestural and minimal, they enhance both the absurdity and the humanity of Milo and his travelling companions on his journey of discovery.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
June 27, 2010
Great review on this classic! You've done it justice :) Thanks so much for sharing!
 
June 23, 2010
Thank you so much for drawing the comparison between Alice and Tollbooth. I always thought that some elements of Tollbooth resonated more deeply with me than Alice, as much as I love that book. Thank you so much for articulating the differences and comparisons because now I can it.
 
1
More The Phantom Tollbooth reviews
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
Extensive vocabulary to stretch young readers and still an entertaining fantasy adventure for older readers
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I read this years and years ago, but there are a ton of scenes from it that stick with me, which must mean that there's something to it!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
This was one of my favorite books when I was a kid! Everyone should read it! :)
review by . June 27, 2010
This book was incredibly formative for my early literary years. It tells the tale of a young boy travelling through fantastical and fascinating landscapes, of time and alphabet and number. With a faithful companion and a perilous quest, this journey cannot help but engage and attract the reader. I have yet to be able to find this book again, as I'd love to read it now that I've grown up.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
An interesting read for kids. I liked it as a kid and just devoured it within days.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I think I liked this more than my kids did.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
a great read for children
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
Such a classic!
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Probably my favorite children's book ever. I recommend it to everyone everywhere.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Amazing!!!
About the reviewer
Shannon Thorson ()
Ranked #1191
That is that and this is this, tell me what you saw I'll tell you what you missed - Modest Mouse
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
bookartist2010
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The Phantom Tollbooth is a children's adventure novel and a modern fairy tale published in 1961, written by Norton Juster and illustrated by Jules Feiffer. It tells the story of a bored young boy named Milo who unexpectedly receives a magic tollbooth  one afternoon and, having nothing better to do, drives through. He finds himself in the Kingdom of Wisdom. There he accepts a quest to rescue the princesses of the kingdom, acquires two faithful companions, and has many adventures. The book is full of puns, and many events, like Milo's sudden jump to the Island of Conclusions, are the consequences of taking English language idioms literally.

Juster claims his father's fondness for puns and The Marx Brothers' movies were a major influence. The Phantom Tollbooth was an "instant classic" when it was first published in 1961. Critics have compared it to Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland in terms of classic appeal and importance.

The book has been translated into several languages.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-13: 978-0881036961
Author: Norton Juster
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Publisher: Bt Bound
Date Published: October 01, 1999
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists