|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by wordlover

  • Jul 17, 2010
Dark humor and undertones of evil make this one of Oscar Wilde's most noteworthy works. It is thought provoking and disturbing in an unexpected sort of way.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Picture of Dorian Gray reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
The Portrait of Dorian Gray is the only novel by the famous playwright Oscar Wilde and at the time it caused a lot of uproar due to the homosexual undertones present in the novel. Oscar Wilde was a famous homosexual at a time when homosexuality was a prosecutable crime and Widle ended up being tried and sentenced for what he wrote in the book. In terms of 'devious' content it's actually pretty light and for the most part implied rather than mentioned. Nowadays the content is nothing …
review by . July 02, 2010
I first read this book when I was a teenager, recommended to me by my father. We shared pretty much the same taste in books and this suggestion made me discover Oscar Wilde as a writer.       By the time it was written this book, fiction was just in diapers, so to speak, yet the idea proposed here of a painting reflecting the model’s inner transformation is quite nice and interesting. The desire to stay young forever is an old human aspiration and theme, yet I find …
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Pretty good. The story is relatively simple - most of the pages are filled with Wilde's flowery prose and witticisms. But it's intriguing and interesting to read.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Creepy, Classical and Cool. Dorian Gray is not the best character in this book you will see that he has a diabolic mentor behind. If you want to test one human give him some power.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Either read this or the wikipedia entry for it, or you will miss out on quite a few pop culture references to it.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
This book has always reminded me of the myth of Narcissus. Too lost in his beauty, too eager to preserve it, young Dorian Gray makes a bargain, and as all men who has made bargains, pays the price.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
An excellent book. A classic story of good and evil not to be missed.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Interesting concept and story.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
The intro to the story is a great defense of art without boundaries. The story is a great parable against life without boundaries.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
A rollicking good time that turns into a truly sobering warning about the devious nature of the human ego.
About the reviewer
Megan Anderson ()
Ranked #1575
I love 19th century british literature and just about anything by C.S. Lewis. My favorite childhood story is Beauty and the Beast. Hopefully one day I will have published many stories of my own.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
wordlover
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book
Polls with this book
A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

First to Review

"Great story by Oscar Wilde"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists