|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure » User review

The Princess Bride

William Goldman's celebrated 1973 satirical, modern, romantic fairy tale/adventure.

< read all 31 reviews

Note to self: There is no real S. Morgenstern!

  • Jun 9, 2010
Rating:
+4
As an avid fan of the film "The Princess Bride" I figured I must read the book, because as we all know, books are always better than the movies adapted from them. Mind you, I didn't know anyone else who had read it, so there was no one to warn me about this S. Morgenstern business. Consequently, I read the entire book convinced that it was really written by S. Morgenstern and abridged by William Goldman. How I managed to believe this, I'm not so sure, but Goldman did such an awesome job of making it convincing that I bought it, hook, line, and sinker. When I finally realized the truth, I had to laugh. Goldman certainly played a mighty trick on me! Thinking back on the book as written in 1973 and NOT in the 1500's, it's much easier to appreciate the comedic value of it. The commentary that Goldman adds everywhere is really funny, especially when you know he's commenting on his own book and not someone else's. As one would expect from the film, the story is rich with adventure, drama, and comedy. Some parts were weirder than I'd expected, like when he talks in depth about the sequel that doesn't actually exist. Weird stuff. But overall, such a great read.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who's a fan of the film. I'd recommend it to people who haven't seen the film too, but somehow I sense they'd appreciate it less. But anyhoo, if you're thinking about reading it, go for it! You won't regret it, it's easily one of the best works of fiction I've read.

(Note: I would have mentioned more of the plot in my review, but I figure everyone and their mother has seen the film, so I didn't bother.)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
January 13, 2011
I loved this book, and the added addition of S. Morgenstern made it that much more engaging. Did you end up liking the book more than the film? I did.
 
1
More The Princess Bride: S. Morgens... reviews
Quick Tip by . February 03, 2011
If you're ever in Ireland you can see the "real" Cliffs of Insanity (the cliffs used for filming The Princess Bride) when you visit the Cliffs of Moher in Co. Clare. I was there in June (2010) and they were absolutely breathtaking! You could almost see The Dread Pirate Roberts sword-fighting with Inigo!
review by . June 15, 2010
As you wish
A great movie that was made from a great book. I've always been a huge fan of the movie so when starting to read the book I had high hopes. I was not disappointed. The book is just as funny as the movie. I frequently laughed out loud at dialog. There are small differences, instead of the grandfather reading the sick little boy the book, its the boys father. While I loved the character of the grandfather in the movie, I think having it be the father reading the book was much more touching. …
review by . June 29, 2010
As difficult as it is to write this without spoilers, I will attempt to do so in the following. Buttercup is a young woman who is described very well by author William Goldman. I can identify with her after the first chapter and I am sure most people will take heart to her as well.      The beautiful heroine of the Princess Bride is in for an amazing adventure in this impressive novel. She meets several exciting characters along the way. William Goldman has spun a masterpiece …
review by . June 19, 2010
If you're like me you have probably seen The Princess Bride more times than you can count.  Each time is just keeps getting funnier and as you grow up, you begin to understand the jokes better.  Think of it as Shrek just with live people.  The comedy is about that level.  So you can imagine how great it was to read the book.      I was worried.  Usually books which are made into movies are horrible and they have destroyed the original plot line.  …
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
i dont want to say that i dont like the movie because i did enjoy it but my mom has burned me out on it to the point that the origional book is now collecting dust on my shelf because i just cant stomach it!
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This book is sooo much better than the movie. It is very well written. I loved it as a early teenager, and I'm a girl!
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
great book and movie
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
A brillant satiere of today which takes place almost 400 years ago and makes incredible sense. Fun read !!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Loved the movie
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Like the movie better.
About the reviewer
Hypothetical Hippo ()
Ranked #787
Member Since: Jun 9, 2010
Last Login: Jul 5, 2010 07:04 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
simpsonianite
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


The Princess Brideis a true fantasy classic. William Goldman describes it as a "good parts version" of "S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure." Morgenstern's original was filled with details of Florinese history, court etiquette, and Mrs. Morgenstern's mostly complimentary views of the text. Much admired by academics, the "Classic Tale" nonetheless obscured what Mr. Goldman feels is a story that has everything: "Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautifulest ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passion. Miracles."

Goldman frames the fairy tale with an "autobiographical" story: his father, who came from Florin, abridged the book as he read it to his son. Now, Goldman is publishing an abridged version, interspersed with comments on the parts he cut out.

view wiki

Details

Author: William Goldman
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Comedy, Satire, Modern Fairytale
Publisher: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich
Date Published: 1973
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
First to Review

"Expanded journeys"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists