|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Book » Reviews » The Time Machine (book) » User review

Great book

  • Jul 1, 2010
Rating:
+4

As a big fan of H.G Wells I had to pick this up after reading The War of the Worlds. It's not as long but it's just as good. Once again I really enjoy the Victorian mentality applied to futuristic technology although whereas space travel is now a real possibility so we can see where Wells went 'wrong', this time the subject of time travel is just as much of an impossibility now as it was when Wells wrote it.

The actual specifics of time travel are not really focused on however; Wells rather tells the story of a far off future where Earth has split into two races - one above ground and one below ground. This was based on a popular concept at the time of the superior and inferior races and due to Wells' belief in eugenics. Nevertheless it is a compelling tale as Wells describes a bizarre planet where humanity has regressed to the point where those on top are childlike and completely incapable of defending for themselves having long forgotten how they got to where they are and the lower classes which have evolved into vampiric night stalking cannibals. 

Later on the time traveller travels even further into the future and sees a planet inhabited by giant crabs and other fantastical creatures. Even further on and he witnesses the death of the Earth itself. It is a truly fascinating read and Wells has a captive imagination.

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
January 29, 2011
Glad you pointed out that the book is more about eugenics and less about "sci-fi" elements. I agree that "The War of the Worlds" is a better read. Thanks for the compelling review!
 
1
More The Time Machine (book) reviews
review by . December 01, 2010
H. G. Wells was both an incredibly gifted science visionary as well as an intelligent social commentator. Those two skills are combined in this book, which soundly set the stage for the use of time travel as a primary plot device for science fiction stories. It also served to create the concept of class warfare leading to a significant separation between the workers and the capitalists. This went against the common belief that progress would continue largely unabated.    The …
review by . July 04, 2010
H. G. Wells was a crusader of his time, with a leaning toward socialism and social equality. With this tidbit of information, it's interesting to see how The Time Machine was both a hope of utopia and a picture of a seemingly inevitable dystopia.      Our time traveler is an amateur scientist who tells an amazing tale to his friends, weekly gatherers at his home for dinner and discussion. He makes a claim to have visited a distant future (in the film, at least, the year …
Quick Tip by . January 12, 2011
One of the first HG Wells books I read, then I went out and bought more. Not modern, but definitely intriguing.
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
I really want to read more Wells. A friend once told me thinking of a future that is so vastly different from ours is terrifying.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
A haunting tale of past, present and future. Who will forget the Eloi/Morlocks and the far-future cancer-beast on the shores of humanity's sunset?
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I've never been much for Sci-Fi, but this is one of the few books I have read more than once. So entertaining with a draw for everyone.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Beware the Morlocks,they live among us today !!
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
A classic book but may seem a bit uninteresting at times.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Classic that was written when this was so much more fanciful than today. Truly enjoyable.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Definitely goes against the blind enthusiasm for our future, a trendsetting in sci-fi.
About the reviewer

Ranked #1110
Member Since: Jul 1, 2010
Last Login: Jul 2, 2010 08:35 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
putmethroughuni
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by putmethroughuni
About this book
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Best Dystopia

by

First to Review

"Great book"
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists