|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Vampire Lestat (The Vampire Chronicles, book 2) » User review

The Vampire Lestat

Anne Rice's 1985 novel and the second book in "The Vampire Chronicles".

< read all 20 reviews

Anne Rice's Brat Prince

  • Jun 15, 2010
Rating:
+4

 I enjoyed this book a lot. Lestat's character is much more defined and personal than in Interview with the Vampire. You learn about his human life as well as how he delevopes into the Brat Prince of Vampires. This version of Lestat is less harsh and a bit more vulnerable. 
This book follows Lestat from France, where he was changed, to Rome, Africa and finally New Orleans. It tells the story of other vampires that shaped his life and how they influenced him.
 Lestat meets Marius, an old Roman Vampire who shares the story of how he becomes a vampire and how he comes to take care the most important piece of history that vampires have. I would recommend this book to Anne Rice fans, as well as fans of Vampires in general. Especially those who prefer the traditional idea of vampires. Rice sticks to the idea that vampires are destroyed by the sun and elborates on their gothic feel. The Vampire Lestat is a biography of the bratty vampire we met in the first Vampire Chronicles book. If you did not like Lestat in the first book, you will learn to love him in this one because he is vastly different.

Anne Rice's Brat Prince

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
More The Vampire Lestat (The Vampir... reviews
Quick Tip by . January 10, 2011
It's been quite a few years since I read "The Vampire Lestat." While it definitely expanded on Lestat's life, I remember it feeling sort of cheesy most of the time, especially the whole rock star angle.
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
an up close and personal look at ever ones favorite sarcastic vampire extraordinaire
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Not quite Interview with the Vampire but still among the truly great vampire novels.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
great read if you like vampire stories a little bit more complex than the Twilight series
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
If you're reading the series, read this book. If you're picking and choosing from her books, read Memnoch the Devil. And at all costs, if you're disturbed by extremely vivid gay sex scenes, avoid The Vampire Armand.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Oh my goodness! I love Lestat. Forget Edward, Lestat is captivating, sexy and mysterious. He isn't called the Brat Prince for no reason. I love this book more than all the other Vampire Chronicles.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Fall in love with the original prince of darkness.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Makes twilight seem so silly..
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
everything anne rice touches turns to gold! the character of lestat is cunning, funny, sexy, and you just cant help but fall in love with him. he will have you bearing your neck in no time.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
The whole vampire saga is interesting but this book can drag at times
About the reviewer
Krystal ()
Ranked #1024
I'm an art student who one day hopes to be an artist for a living. I live with my two cats in a studio apartment near the arts/bar district of my local town. Living down here I see many weird and … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EvilPlunderBunny
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by EvilPlunderBunny
About this book

Wiki

Tags

Books, Cafe Libri, Fiction, Vampires, Anne Rice, Lestat, Chronicles Of The Vampires, Vampire Chronicles

Details

Author: Anne Rice
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Gothic Horror
Date Published: 1985

Polls with this book
'Salem's Lot

Pick Your Favorite Vampire Books

by

Blackwood Farm (The Vampire Chronicles)

Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists