|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible » User review

Awesome!

  • Jun 5, 2010
Rating:
+5
I had high expectations when I received this book as a gift, and they were fulfilled. A.J. Jacobs is hilarious and insightful at the same time as he tries to live using every rule from the Bible. He starts off with more broad and popular rules, like not gossiping or lying, and moves on to the very particular parts of the Bible like the type of clothing and length of hair to wear. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to laugh and is willing to be open about religious ideas. A must read!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 07, 2010
LOL, this really does sound awesome! When people cite the Bible when they say that certain acts or certain people are wrong, I've always wondered how closely they actually lived by the Bible. Glad this man was brave enough to test it out for us. I must check out. Thanks for sharing! :)
 
1
More The Year of Living Biblically:... reviews
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This book is funny and light. Recommended for anyone with a sense of humor about religion.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Fun read. For someone who knows little about the world's religions, it was a great crash course.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
I thought I would like this book more than I did.
review by . April 06, 2009
I, like the author, am a secular Jew living in an urban setting. I, also, consider myself agnostic,  although I tend to believe in ideas such as 'destiny' and 'fate', but only to a degree. While the author had a real adventure throughout the book, I can say that it was something of an adventure for me as well. I can't claim to have taken a year to read it but in the few days that I devoted to it I can honestly say I learned something. But, as with those who will read this book and the author …
review by . March 05, 2009
AJ Jacobs is a fantastic writer, and I enjoyed this book, about a year spent trying to live as literally according to the Bible as legally possible, much more than "Know It All," his experiment in reading the Encyclopedia Britannica. His sections on experimenting with the stranger sides of orthodox religions are funny and fascinating, while his struggles with the basic premise of his challenge (which Bible to take literally? what about the illegal parts?) are eye-opening. Like the movie "Religulous," …
About the reviewer

Ranked #2170
Member Since: Jun 5, 2010
Last Login: Jun 9, 2010 05:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
riley06
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

Author: A.J. Jacobs
Genre: Memoir

Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists