|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Three Cups of Tea » User review

Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote

A book by Greg Mortenson.

< read all 24 reviews

Fabulous, insightful and eye opening

  • Jul 23, 2010
Rating:
+5

This is a true story about how a mountain climber having lost his way, is rescued by the people from an obscure and isolated village high in the mountains of Pakistan.  As Greg Mortenson was nursed back to health, the village chief showed him where the children had their school lessons.  It consisted of a bare plot of dirt where they scratched their lessons into the dry soil.  Greg was so moved that he promised he would build them a proper school.  Upon returning to his home in the United States, he began a journey that has not only changed his life but the lives of many thousands of people, all thru the sharing of a cup of tea and the book that resulted there from.

This book taught me about the Pakistani and Afghan people in a way that I had never understood.  It described the isolated villages scattered throughout the tall, sharp peaks of the mountain ranges that make up much of their countries.  As I read, I understood why simply employing force and firearms will not bring understanding nor peace to these regions.

Over the many years since first stumbling into the village of Korfu, Greg has now built hundreds of schools in villages scattered throughout both Pakistan and later Afganistan.  His quiet manner has enabled him to bring schools to areas deep in Taliban strongholds with little opposition.  His philosophy that by understanding the people, and helping them to reach goals that they set for themselves is the way to achieving peace and understanding.  

I am a believer and you will be too.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
August 03, 2010
Being an educator and lover of culture, I found Greg's story captivating and inspiring. I agree that he teaches about the Pakistani people in an exciting way. His spirit seems to convince people to open their lives, homes, and hearts to him. If only we all had his passion and drive for education . . . or anything.
 
August 02, 2010
Great review Jill, thank you for sharing! I thought you may enjoy @Fionnabhair's review of Three Cups of Tea as well. :)
 
1
More Three Cups of Tea reviews
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/18/world/asia/18tea.html?th&emc=th
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Reading this made me feel frustrated and tied in knots because of all the struggles he went through to finally reach his goal.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Inspiring. I heard Greg Mortenson speak at BYU last year and he is an incredible person.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
This should be mandatory reading of every high school student. You want to understand this poorly understood part of the world? Here is a good start.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
An amazing true story of a man's unselfishness to help build school's in Afghan and Pakistan
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
I love this concept, this book, and this writer!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Very inspiring story of Mortenson's journey to change a nation though education.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Wonderful story of a man's trip into the world of poverty who makes a change! Inspiring
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Not the greatest writing, but what a story!!! This guy lives in Bozeman, MT where I went to college and his life story will inspire the hardest heart to do SOMETHING positive for others in need. This guy is someone I truly admire. Bono has nothing on him.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
I searched until I found this book, because I felt the author's message is simportant.
About the reviewer
Jill Swedlow ()
Ranked #1070
Member Since: Jul 23, 2010
Last Login: Aug 2, 2010 02:36 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jswedlow
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Three Cups of Tea is a New York Times bestselling book by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin published by Penguin in 2006. The book describes Mortenson's transition from a mountain-climber to a humanitarian committed to reducing poverty and educating girls in Pakistan and Afghanistan. He did this by co-founding the "Central Asia Institute," which has built over 78 schools in the most remote areas of the countries.

view wiki

Tags

Books, Book, Cafe Libri, Education, Nonfiction, Politics, History, New York Times Bestsellers, Bestsellers, Ny Times Bestsellers, Afghanistan, Pakistan, David Oliver Relin, Greg Mortenson, Penguin Books, Three Cups Of Tea

Details

ISBN-10: 0143038257 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780143038252 (pbk.)
Author: Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin
Genre: Non-Fiction
Publisher: Penguin
Date Published: January, 2007
Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists