|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Uzumaki Volume 2 by Junji Ito » User review

Uzumaki Volume 2 by Junji Ito

The 2nd book in Junji Ito's "Uzumaki" Graphic Novel series

< read all 5 reviews

LOVELY HORROR

  • Jun 29, 2010
Rating:
+5
All in all, I would say that this is wonderful instalment, wetting the appetite for the final portion of the storyline. It does a lot to build on the first Uzumaki book, keeping the proverbial ball rolling without making it a boring spectacle. It isn't for the weak of heart of mind, however, and would only be recommended as bedtime reading to your children after you initially dose them with heaping helpings of horror movies and storylines to harden their soft pallets. O, and its in black and white, for those that think color is the only venue producing meritable works.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
June 30, 2010
Nice, quick review. I enjoyed your tone, and I agree that black and white illustrations can be just as engaging as the color ones.
 
1
More Uzumaki Volume 2 by Junji Ito reviews
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
A surreal but beautiful experience
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Incredible. Junji Ito seems to be able to take nightmares and put them to paper with incredible creativity. A must read if you enjoy Asian horror of any sort.
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Scary as all get out!
review by . November 20, 2008
Uzumaki Volume 2 by Junji Ito
First of all, if you haven't read Uzumaki Vol. 1, then run out and pick it up first before reading about Vol. 2. In Vol. 2, Spiral Into Horror, we see the further infestation of the little seaside town of Kurozu-cho. Stranger and stranger things begin to happen, proving to Kirie Goshima that her boyfriend Shuichi Saito is right about the town; it is infected with spirals. With the chapters being a little more separated in this second volume, we have some very distinct adventures to wade through. …
About the reviewer
Mudkipz ()
Ranked #1803
   I love books. I read them even while I am sleeping.   BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS   Are manga books?
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
poisonpixel
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by poisonpixel
About this book

Wiki

Product Description
A sleepy town on the coast of Japan is under quiet, deadly siege, not by a person or group but by a primeval spiral shape whose victims include both parents of Shuichi Saito. In this second volume of the saga, Shuichi's girlfriend Kirie becomes further involved in the town's terrible secret when schoolmates start turning up as horrible human snails and something unspeakable is discovered within the walls of the local hospital.

About the Author
Junji Ito debuted as a horror manga artist in 1987 with the first story in his successful Tomie series. Uzumaki, drawn from 1998 to 1999, was adapted into a live-action movie, which has been released in America by Viz Films and Tidepoint Pictures. It's influences include the classic manga artists Kazuo Umezu and Hideshi Hino, as well as authors Yasutaka Tsutsui and H.P. Lovecraft.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1591160332
ISBN-13: 978-1591160335
Author: Junji Ito
Genre: Japanese Horror , Graphic Novel
Publisher: VIZ Media LLC; 1 edition (July 6, 2002)
Date Published: (July 6, 2002)
Format: Paperback: 208 pages, Product Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.8 x 0.6 inches
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists