|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie » User review

Valiant A Tale of the Ages.

  • Jul 26, 2010
Rating:
+5



 


One of my reactions to this book was that i connected so well to the main character. She was so normal to me and yet had an epic adventure.
I would recommend this book to all of my girlfriends because this is such a romantic and fantastical book.
The setting in the city is very appropriate to what's going on with the main character.
The story itself is awesome. There are so many twists and turns that happen to val on her journey to escape her normal life.
I love how Val becomes such a different person in the end after all that she had to go through.
The message of this story is that growing up can be  hard and that things can change in your life all on one simple decision.
This book is so addictive to me. I can read this  whole series multiple times and still go back for more unlike some other books I've read where up read it once and put it down.
I don't think that this book should ever be made into a movie because it would ruin the story. This is one precious book that should never be changed or lost.
I love Holly Black's writing. She paints a picture that leaves your real world just a little less bright in the end.

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
More Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faer... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Anyone who loves the world of fey and humans
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Pretty good, kinda creepy
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Eh, Tithe was better...
review by . August 24, 2009
Starting off, I will say I was disappointed this did not pick up where Tithe left off. We got all new characters within the same world and Kaye and Roiben weren't reintroduced until late in the book, and dismissed just as quickly. That said, I did love this new story in that world.    While I did enjoy some of the new characters, most of the misfits were just scummy. I didn't understand why they would choose to live in an abandoned train station if taking Never made it so easy …
review by . February 06, 2009
Once upon a time, though not so long ago, there lived a teenager named Valerie. Valerie lived with her mother in a single parent family relationship, played lacrosse in school, and was best friends with a girl who preferred girls as friends. Valerie had a foul mouth and a temper to match, and had a wonderful opportunity to demonstrate both of these when she caught her boyfriend cheating on her.     Being in possession of tickets to a hockey game at Madison Square Garden, Valerie …
About the reviewer
Clarissa Linhart ()
Ranked #2043
Member Since: Jul 26, 2010
Last Login: Jul 26, 2010 10:02 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
rissababe20
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0689868235 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780689868238 (pbk.)
Author: Holly Black
Genre: Children's Books, Teens, Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: McElderry
Date Published: September 26, 2006
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists