|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Where the Wild Things Are (book) » User review

"Let the Wild Rumpus Start!"

  • Apr 29, 2010
Rating:
+5

"Where the Wild Things Are" is an excellent book about the power of imagination. I love this book because Maurice Sendak's illustrations are beautiful and magical especially of the image of the monsters and Max dancing around the forest. Also, check out the ending as it is beautiful and lovable. "Where the Wild Things Are" is one of the greatest children's books ever created and everyone should grab this book and read it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
April 30, 2010
I love this book! It's hard to choose between this one "The Lorax" and "The Giving Tree." All were really special to me as a child. :)
April 30, 2010
I loved this book too! I also loved "The Lorax!" It was a very cute book about enviromental concerns. Was "The Lorax" banned in a school before?
April 30, 2010
Yes, "The Lorax" has been banned in schools before, Ronyell. It's funny that you mentioned that because it was banned in my area for a while because the town thought it demonized the local lumber jacks! :-P
April 30, 2010
I heard that it was banned because some people thought that the book was promoting the idea that industrialization is bad. Also, have you read "In the Night Kitchen" by Maurice Sendak? I remember that book was banned because Mickey was naked in his dream.
April 30, 2010
Oh yes, I heard that reasoning too!

I haven't read "In the Night Kitchen," but I have heard of it. Personally, I didn't think it was that big of a deal that he was naked in his dream.
April 30, 2010
I didn't even notice he was naked when I was younger, so this controversy never really bother me. Have you read the Nutshell Kids Library, the one sang by Carole King?
May 01, 2010
I don't think kids see being naked as a bad thing until they are taught to view their bodies that way by their parents. No, I haven't read that title. What's it about?
May 02, 2010
The Lorax is about how an animal called the Lorax tries to stop a man called the Onceler from cutting down all the trees in the forest. The Onceler was cutting down all the trees to make a profit from making Thneeds, which are sweaters that he sells to people. However, when the Onceler starts cutting down the trees, he is also polluting the forest.
May 02, 2010
Ooo! Interesting!
 
April 29, 2010
Yes, I loved this book as well, so imaginative!  Actually, I love all Maurice Sendak books in general :)  Have you seen the movie yet?  Check out this fabulous review on the movie.  Darker, but worth seeing.  Thanks for sharing, Ronyell! :)
April 29, 2010
I haven't seen the movie yet, even though I heard it was a bit darker than the book, but hopefully i'll check it out! By the way, have you read any other Maurice Sendak's books like In the Night Kitchen and Outside Over There?
April 29, 2010
Yes, I have! I love Chicken Soup with Rice as well, one of my fave Maurice Sendak books :)
April 29, 2010
Oh yeah! I remember the Nutshell Kids Library and my favorite book would have to be Pierre from that collection! Maurice Sendak is such a wonderful illustrator!
 
1
More Where the Wild Things Are (boo... reviews
review by . July 14, 2010
I read this book nearly every day between the ages of about 5 and 9, and I don't know why I ever stopped. The creativity is remarkable, and Max is an easy protagonist to latch onto, especially when you are between the ages of 5 and 9. The Wild Things are particularly awesome during that age window, but even a quick flip through these days would generate more than a few feelings of nostalgic awe. The underlying theme, that of appreciating what you have, etc., is not unique as an end in itself, …
review by . July 22, 2010
   The book is exciting.  But the moving was too long and boring.  My friend and I went to read the book before watching the movie.  And then we almost fell asleep through the movie.  Now let me sum up the book:      Where the Wild Things Are is an excellent book. What makes it such an extraordinary book is the creative imagination of both Maurice Sendak the writer and Maurice Sendak the artist. The text and the artwork complement one another, moving …
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
Still scary delicious after all these years - one of the great books (not just for children).
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
Wonderful, classic children's book. Growing up this was my very favorite book. Disappointed on the movie, but the book is fantastic!
review by . July 14, 2010
Few children's books remain popular for 40 years. Those that have are considered classics. In 1964, Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are won the Caldecott Medal as the "Most Distinguished Picture Book of the Year." It has been popular ever since. Why? The theme, conflict, and characters are all ones with which most three to six year olds can readily identify. The illustrations are a visual delight. The story is particularly appealing because Max is in conflict …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Addorable book. Would highly recommend reading this book.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
This was a groundbreaking childrens' book at the time it was published--one of the first to show a child misbehaving without preaching a lesson, and to show readers that it's okay to enjoy your imagination. The mother's meek behavior at the ending disturbs me a bit, though. (No reinforcement; he still gets his dinner.)
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
all time fav. kids book! still read it once in a while...
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
My absolute favorite as a child!!! True tip when reading this book to a child, the pages with pictures and no text were originally meant to be set to music. We like...I-ah-oh-ah stick your head in elmers glue-ah. It just seems to fit.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Although the recent movie is controversial, I think it is a good adaptation
About the reviewer
Ronyell Anatasha Coaxum ()
Ranked #359
Member Since: Apr 29, 2010
Last Login: May 31, 2011 06:32 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Rabbitearsblog
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

A naughty little boy, sent to bed without his supper, sails to the land of the wild things where he becomes their king.

Where the Wild Things Are is a 1963 children's picture book by American writer and illustrator Maurice Sendak, originally published by Harper & Row. The book has been adapted into other media several times, including an animated short, a 1970 opera, and, in 2009, a live-action feature film adaptation and subsequent video game. According to HarperCollins, the book has sold over 19 million copies worldwide as of 2008.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-13: 978-0735300613
Author: Maurice Sendak
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Publisher: Galison Books
Date Published: May 01, 2001
Polls with this book
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?

"Rate these Children's Books"

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists