|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » White Oleander » User review

White Oleander

A book by Janet Fitch

< read all 6 reviews

White Oleander

  • Jun 25, 2010
Rating:
+5

White Oleander is the story of Astrid and her journey through adolescence. But not any normal adolescence. After her mother leaves (for reasons I don't want to spoil for you), she is forced to go through multiple foster homes and meets many people on the way. Some good, some terrible, some tragic--Astrid learns life lessons no girl as young as she should learn so young. She is forced to grow up to quickly, and has to face her mother's issues while trying to deal with her own at the same time.

This novel is emotionally capturing. It's hard-hitting and poised in such a sophisticated manner. You feel so sorry for the main character, Astrid, because a young girl should not ever have to go through what she goes through. You just want to save her so it is impossible to put the book down because you want to know what happens to her in the end. I spent many classes in my junior year of high school (during the time I read this novel) ignoring the curriculum and just reading this novel. It sucks you in completely and you can't help but be completely sucked into the world that Janet Fitch beautifully created.

I would recommend this novel to anyone, honestly. I guess mostly I would recommend it to females in their teens, but adult females should read it as well. I'd say from age 15 and up, but women at least 17 or older would probably be the ones to appreciate it the most. Especially those with issues with their own mothers. This novel is very powerful with addressing maternal issues and females who don't necessarily have great maternal influences in their lives. That is how I connected to Astrid's story.

Janet Fitch writes so poetically and so beautifully. Her prose is absolutely flawless and throws you into this amazing, torn up, beautifully tragic world. It's a painting in words. Everyone should read it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
June 27, 2010
Great review, lady! I've seen the movie before, but still haven't read the book yet. I'll have to check it out. Thanks for the recommendation! :)
 
1
More White Oleander reviews
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
good novel. worth reading
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I love the poetry in this book. Well-written!
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
aawww, please read this one!
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Great book!
review by . January 18, 2000
We see it on television, the movies, the newsmedia, and the tabloids...now we have another forced feeding account of the Bad parent/Bruised child in the form of a novel. Fitch writes well and draws characters realistically. It is a shame such talent is squandered on a soap opera story. How many more of these "down and out deserted kids" tales will be written? A depressing read without redemption, BUT this author has the skills down well.
About the reviewer
samantha ()
Ranked #1177
Member Since: Jun 25, 2010
Last Login: Jun 28, 2010 06:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sognare
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by sognare
About this book

Wiki

Oprah Book Club® Selection, May 1999:Astrid Magnussen, the teenage narrator of Janet Fitch's engrossing first novel,White Oleander, has a mother who is as sharp as a new knife. An uncompromising poet, Ingrid despises weakness and self-pity, telling her daughter that they are descendants of Vikings, savages who fought fiercely to survive. And when one of Ingrid's boyfriends abandons her, she illustrates her point, killing the man with the poison of oleander flowers. This leads to a life sentence in prison, leaving Astrid to teach herself the art of survival in a string of Los Angeles foster homes.

As Astrid bumps from trailer park to tract house to Hollywood bungalow, White Oleander uncoils her existential anxieties. "Who was I, really?" she asks. "I was the sole occupant of my mother's totalitarian state, my own personal history rewritten to fit the story she was telling that day. There were so many missing pieces." Fitch adroitly leads Astrid down a path of sorting out her past and identity. In the process, this girl develops a wire-tight inner strength, gains her mother's white-blonde beauty, and achieves some measure of control over their relationship. Even from prison, Ingrid tries to mold her daughter. Foiling her, Astrid learns about tenderness from one foster mother and how to stand up for herself from another. Like the weather in Los Angeles--the winds of the Santa Anas, the scorching heat--Astrid's teenage life is intense....

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0316569321
ISBN-13: 978-0316569323
Author: Janet Fitch
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists