|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Finance » Reviews » Inflation » User review

Inflation

The devaluation of money.

< read all 4 reviews

You've been robbed (big time)!

  • Nov 6, 2010
Rating:
-5
Inflation, a dirty word for politicians and economists. Yet, it's on almost everyone's mind these days, including some distant villagers in China. 

There have been many talks about this topic in the business world, be it from the academics, business leaders, employers, employees, real estate agents, or even children. Everyone knows inflation is an evil in one's life. It exists whether you like it or not. The point is you can't eradicate it, you can only hope to cope with it. The question then is, are you coping well under high inflationary environment?




The U.S. is attempting to export inflation to the entire world. Not only are Americans having to deal with inflation, the rest of the world has to deal with it even on a larger scale. Printing money as U.S. did the last two years have blown the problem of inflation out of proportion in the world. You do not have to know any economics to know this. Clearly, for all of us out there in the world, money is getting more and more worthless. How can it not be when Gold has reached a high of almost US$1400 an ounce now? When you go out shopping for groceries, they cost more and more and the same amount of money now brought home less food!

Many countries in Africa are dealing with inflationary rates which we hope we will never ever hear about. That appears to be just their problems, not ours. Or is that true? Is country which is not having low growth not dealing with it? Clearly NOT! Take for example, in Singapore and Hong Kong (and also China), the official inflation rate may appear normal, yet we all know rentals and real estates have skyrocketed to all time high and although business appear to be good, more and more people are feeling poor. A few rich are controlling what's happening in the country, as with the U.S. 



I'm not for a socialist country, but when your country is drifting apart because the gap between the rich and poor is so big that almost 80-90% of people feel poor, then something clearly is very wrong, regardless of what the data says. When businesses that have been operating at a profit for last 10-20 years are closing down because they are no longer worth the effort of operating, then it is easy to foresee that this is the beginning of fallout between reality and sustainability. Governments need to find ways to deal with not only those who have and those who have nots, they also need to maintain a balance between the employed and the unemployed (be it due to circumstances or voluntarily). No, it is definitely not an easy issue to deal with, but the sooner the leaders deal with them and make difficult decisions, the better it is for the world. If not, it is not difficult to conclude that in near future, we will see strikes, disruptions and even social upheavals in many regions in the world. Having 90%+ of the population feel poor and unable to cope is a dangerous situation. Having 70% of the world feel hopeless, that's the real disaster of the century!

Considering the trend we are seeing now, with regard to assets and hot moneys floating in and out of different countries, exporting inflation by the Obama Administration is a very dangerous strategy. It will not work to the advantage of the American people, it will further harm the balance in the rest of the world. It is therefore not difficult to foresee that we will have troubles in very near future. Inflation is not a necessary evil; it is an evil which if not controlled will prove to be the downfall of men! The world is now in a precarious situation, should U.S. $ devalues around the world, be ready for bloodshed!


(This review is being nominated for Lunch Award! A BIG THANK YOU to everyone who nominated & voted!!!)
Staying out of harm's way!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
February 11, 2011
As GenreReviewer touched on in his comment, many Americans have been living above their means for so long that they are UNNECESSARILY poor. There are plenty of people making fine livings who are poor (in cashflow terms) because they can't or won't stop spending. I worked with a woman who was multiple pay grades below me but who owned FIVE vehicles (between she and her husband) and drove a car twice as expensive as mine...all the while complaining of not having enough money to do this or go there.
February 12, 2011
I did suggest one time that she sell her Harley (they both had one)...which had either never been ridden (by her) or hadn't been ridden in a LONG time..she looked at me like I suggested she drown her puppy. She was just the sweetest person but not very practical.
February 12, 2011
Some people holds onto physical things to feel secured and as a sense of accomplishment. It's a case of selective perception. Whatever that's owing to the bank is on paper and at times they choose to ignore the significance of that. It's how the mind works. Actually, quite interesting if you study human behaviors :-)
 
February 03, 2011
Just a quick comment on one sentence in your review: "...the gap between the rich and poor is so big that almost 80-90% of people feel poor..." I'm technically categorized as poor due to my very low income yet I feel rich. No, I can't buy the latest gadget without first carefully saving up for it, but I can buy everything I need (and more) by carefully managing my money. I suspect most of the 80-90% of people who _feel_ poor are looking at what they can't have or have mismanaged their money so they're having trouble buying what they really need. Feeling poor doesn't necessarily mean you are poor. According to http://www.globalissues.org/article/26/poverty-facts-and-stats, "Almost half the world — over three billion people — live on less than $2.50 a day." Yes, cost of living is also higher here, but how can I really consider myself poor compared to that? So, yes, inflation is a note-worry problem, but there are also other factors involved when it comes to feeling poor.
February 03, 2011
Feeling poor is a subjective reference. A very rich man could still feel poor simply because he likes to compare with someone even richer than him or just the richest men in the world. Yet, I do believe in many individuals' experience, they might feel poorer now than say 10 years ago, even though materialistically (or in their bank accounts) they have more. 

Considering oneself poor is different from feeling poor. Naturally, the more choices we are given (say to buy more innovative products), the poorer we might also feel. When you are considering yourself rich, you are referring to spiritually you've more than others. Interestingly (and sometimes ironically) people may have more and thereby considered richer and yet still feel poor. When I wrote back then people feel poorer, it's partly due to the 2008 financial crisis and also partly because many parents feel that they now have less to feed their children because the prices of food have gone up so much!
 
November 06, 2010
quite a thought-provoking write up. I am not too familiar with some of the points you brought into the fold, but that is crazy for gold to cost that much. What I also know is that the middle class is slowly disappearing...that attests for a lot of things.
November 06, 2010
It's simple. If you travel overseas, American $ is buying less and less. Aussie $ is now on par with US$!!! The US$ is devaluing (without the term attached to it) worldwide!
 
1
More Inflation reviews
review by . March 31, 2011
Ideas to weather the coming storm
"Inflation is going to be serious".  That is the sobering assessment offered by Wal-Mart US CEO Bill Simon during a recent meeting with the editorial board of USA Today. We have already started to see the evidence.  Led by the biggest jump in food prices since 1974, inflation at the wholesale level soared 1.6% in February.  And the likelihood is that it is going to get worse…..a lot worse!  Many analysts are predicting price increases in the range of 2-3% per …
review by . May 09, 2010
Taxation has a lot of names.  It can be called a Tariff, Licensing Expense, Fee, Government Surcharge and more.  Whether you are buying a fishing license or licensing a business, you are paying taxes for the privilege (things that used to be free).  When I discussed the current tax situation, broken tax promises and coming new taxes in my previous reviews (like the Tax Day Examination of Taxation)...I overlooked an important hidden tax that affects rich and poor alike...inflation.   …
Quick Tip by . April 27, 2011
posted in Business Matters
Interestingly, the only way to beat inflation is to spend those worthless money if you still have any of them left! Otherwise, be prepared for devaluation (if it's not already in progress!)!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this business

Wiki

In economics, inflation is a rise in the general level of prices of goods and services in an economy over a period of time.  When the price level rises, each unit of currency buys fewer goods and services; consequently, annual inflation is also an erosion in the purchasing power of money – a loss of real value in the internal medium of exchange and unit of account in the economy.  A chief measure of price inflation is the inflation rate, the annualized percentage change in a general price index (normally the Consumer Price Index) over time.

Inflation's effects on an economy are manifold and can be simultaneously positive and negative. Negative effects of inflation include a decrease in the real value of money and other monetary items over time; uncertainty about future inflation may discourage investment and saving, or may lead to reductions in investment of productive capital and increase savings in non-producing assets. e.g. selling stocks and buying gold. This can reduce overall economic productivity rates, as the capital required to retool companies becomes more elusive or expensive. High inflation may lead to shortages of goods if consumers begin hoarding out of concern that prices will increase in the future. Positive effects include a mitigation of economic recessions, and debt relief by reducing the real level of debt.

High rates of inflation and hyperinflation can be caused by an excessive growth of the money supply. Views on which factors ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists