|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Finance » Reviews » Money » User review

Money

Anything that is generally accepted as payment for goods and services and repayment of debts.

< read all 4 reviews

The Color of Money

  • Dec 31, 2009
Rating:
+5

 

Oh wow, considering what’s been going around in the world for the last year or so, I’d have thought someone on this portal would have written a review on MONEY! Imagine my surprise when I found out I was the first to pass this way!
 
Money… everyone is concerned with it, is it not?
 
Myths:
Money is evil - Like fire, money can destroy but it is not necessary the case if its use is directed in the right course.
Money is all encompassing - Money can buy plenty & cure a great many but it can’t buy love, hope or health.
Money buys forgiveness - Yes, we’ve seen the use of money diminishes one’s wrongdoings but we all know that it can’t diminish one’s guilt.
 
Realities:
The rich becomes richer - That’s how the system works. Knowing that, make it to your advantage.
No money, no talk – Even your kid won’t talk to you if you have no money for toys on Christmas day ;-)
Money makes the world goes around – That’s self explanatory, isn’t it?
 
Pros:
Money ‘buys’ respect. Hear me out before you shout your lungs through the roof! Yes, the earning of a living translates to respect. In that sense I mean.
 
Money grants one good service. I’m afraid the world now is filled with subpar services and we suffer as consumers. However, we also know that if you’re willing to pay, you’ll get the service you like & think you deserve. It’s not the way it should or ought to be, but hey, who says the world is fair? Grow up ;-) Life would be easier for you once you’ve accepted that!
 
Money is a great tool to have. Imagine, you can get the best doctors if you are diagnosed with some illnesses; you can check out the coolest hotspots around town, you can drive a sports car around, you can even learn how to play golf as well as Tiger Woods does! Isn’t that a marvelous tool to own?
 
Cons:
Money breeds jealousy & insecurities in others. Sometimes even in the family, or should I say especially within the family!
Money takes away your time. The more money you’ve, the less time you have.
Money requires management of it & that’s a big headache if you’re not a calculative (oops, that should probably read as mathematical ) person.

 

So, now that we’ve made a list, what’s my stand on money?

Verdict:
 
I like money. Money brings with it a sense of security and prosperity. Money buys happiness to some degree in that with money, you can bring your family to a nice restaurant, your friends to a great movie, your spouse to a high end & peaceful resort. If you are alone, you can cure boredom with it too. Without it or the lack of it, we sink to the bottom of society; we may even lose self-respect, we feel silly & useless and in the worse case, we simply vanish into thin air. Money is essential in our daily lives, we can’t live without it no matter how much we don’t like it or if we detest people with it. So, love money for what it is. It is a neutral object. What each and everyone of us prescribed the meaning to it is what determines if it’s used in the right way. Like fire, it brings warmth. Like fire, it might also bring destruction.  But like fire, it is essential and worthy of our time and thoughts.
 
Ahhh, the beauty of having money…  especially more than you need. He who has that has freedom in life!

Watch historian Professor Niall Ferguson the story of money & the rise of global finance in this documentary series from British broadcaster Channel 4 The Ascent of Money: Dreams of Avarice if you are interested in global perspective on Money. It's an interesting portrayal of money from it being a prescribed trust to that of portable power. Money as a matter of fact is of value only for what others are willing to pay for it.

The Color of Money The Color of Money

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
January 05, 2010
way to break it down. i agree with all you have said, but want to reflect on "Money takes away your time. The more money you've, the less time you have." : although this is writen to sound like a con, i don't see it as a con -> if you don't have any time, it means you are doing something with your time. on your hand, it is a con when you have no time to do the things you want to do because you are too busy trying to make money to survive/pay debts. when it comes to you have no time because you're out there enjoying the hours of your days and so you have no time for other things, i don't see that as a con, but as inspiration to others to be more clever and make it happen for themselves.
January 05, 2010
Thank you for your comment. It is a con and by that I mean, especially for people who already have the money, in order to generate more or in order to be responsible and manage a business (albeit a successful one), they have less time for leisure and for families and friends.
January 08, 2010
very true. then when there is a fight between money maker and spouse, one screams out "how do you think we're living this lifestyle!" ... or so i see in films.
January 08, 2010
LOL...
 
January 01, 2010
Very interesting take, indeed!.......a complex subject matter. For me, money is a symbol of my success- a validation that I've made it.....it's a reward for all of my good work, a reward for all my talents-a recognition. It lets me buy and enjoy beautiful things. It's made me very comfortable, but not happy. It definitely can not satisfy all of our human needs. True happiness does not come from having money; it comes from how you feel about yourself inside. It comes from good times and living a simple life. That's why poorer people are often the happier ones. When I get with my other friends who are affluent we talk about the good ol days when we didn't have as much, and how happy we were then. To survive in most cultures, however, we do need money. Everything is a commodification. Sometimes I love it and sometimes I loathe it......depending on my perception that particular day. However one feels about it, it certainly creates a wide range of opinions and interesting conversations, but way too complex really, just like the subject of love to define.
January 05, 2010
Hi Donna, strange, I remember replying to this comment from you but I don't see it here any longer. I agree with you, money is relative to different people and we all see it differently depending on our own experiences. It'd be great to read others' thoughts on it! May be you'd like to write a review of it yourself?
 
December 31, 2009
Very interesting take on money, Sharrie!  I still have very mixed feelings about money.  As you pointed out, it has so many different facets to it; as much as money can enhance your life, it can just as easily ruin it, yet it's very hard to live without it, but on the other hand, it can't buy everything and can't satisfy all human needs.  It all just depends on how a person manages his or her finances and makes decisions about his or her life, as well as a person's perception.

It's hard to think about it as a neutral object though.  All the points that you brought up above makes me think about all the different ways that money and wealth are handled and perceived in different cultures.  Thanks for weighing in on this topic with this very thought-provoking review, Sharrie! :)
January 02, 2010
Thanks, Debbie! You ought to write a review on it yourself ;-) Oh, it's neutral alright, it only takes on power of its own when it's a sum that an individual can't handle. It's somewhat like a car, it's not dangerous when it's traveling at 10 km/h but it's deadly at 100 km/h!
January 05, 2010
I like that analogy! By the way, did you notice that this review was mentioned in the newsletter that @jrjohnson sent out yesterday? :D
January 06, 2010
Yeah, I did... I must have done something right this year :D Thanks!
January 10, 2010
You mean like write a great review? ;P
 
1
More Money reviews
Quick Tip by . May 16, 2011
posted in Inspirations
Caption
As with time, spending it I had and guess what, it's now in short supply. In essence, we may think too much about making money & too little about how to spend it wisely. Our generation and the next needs to save more! Ok, I'm guilty of not doing so and I'm living dangerously! Money management is the key to success in every corporation and individual!           
Quick Tip by . December 31, 2009
Social Status is determined by Money But Money cannot buy you everything!
Quick Tip by . December 31, 2009
posted in Business Matters
You can chase after it but you can't hold it tight. It's been termed cold hard cash & does not emit warmth yet many would die for it!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this business

Wiki

Money is anything that is generally accepted as payment for goods and services and repayment of debts. The main functions of money are distinguished as: a medium of exchange, a unit of account, a store of value, and occasionally, a standard of deferred payment.

Money originated as commodity money, then evolved to easier-to-transport representative money, in which a certificate stands for a fixed quantity of a commodity. However, nearly all contemporary money systems at the national level are fiat money systems. Fiat money is without value as a physical commodity, and derives its value by being declared by a government to be legal tender; that is, it must be accepted as a form of payment within the national boundaries of the country, for "all debts, public and private". By law, the refusal of a legal tender (offering) extinguishes the debt in the same way acceptance does.

The money supply of a country is usually held to consist of currency (banknotes and coins) and demand deposits or 'bank money' (the balance held in checking accounts and savings accounts). These demand deposits usually account for a much larger part of the money supply than currency. Bank money is intangible and exists only in the form of various bank records. Despite being intangible, bank money still performs the basic functions of money, as checks are generally accepted as a form of payment and as a means of transferring ownership of deposit money.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this business
Ageing (Aging)

The Underlying Force

by

First to Review

"The Color of Money"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists