|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Justin Timberlake » User review

Justin Timberland's Mark in Pop Music History

  • Dec 14, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
People can hate on Justin Timberlake all they want.  Most guys will talk smack about him, but many of them wouldn't bat an eyelash if they were able to jump in his shoes for a day.  Don't fault the brother for being able to sing and dance as a kid, making the right decisions as a young adult, and knowing how to market himself, now that he is older.

He's perhaps the most significant ex-boy band member since Bobby Brown, and I'm sure we can all agree -- based on Brown's past behaviors and inability to score a hit in the past decade and a half -- that he'll easily place a bigger stamp in music history Mr. Brown will.  Many people have called him the new "Prince of Pop," replacing the now reclusive Michael "Am I White Yet?" Jackson.  He's getting stiff competition from Kanye West, who's all too eager to take the throne (have you read the press clippings in which Kanye was dissing Justin?), but it's too early to be seen. 

But, in the meantime, give the man his props.  He's earned to be where he is today.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 07, 2009
Very talented guy, for sure. As HostessTori points out, his stock skyrocketed in my eyes with the SNL bits. Got a like a guy who doesn't take himself too seriously (insert: Kanye West).
 
April 07, 2009
I agree, with his talent...JT will be around for awhile. Aside from his pure music and dance skills- who didn't love his stint on SNL?
 
December 16, 2008
Well....haha.... I'm not in love with the guy, and I don't have any of his albums. But I do recognize talent when I see it. He does bust out some good booty-shakin' jams, and when music is supposed to be a surreal, cathartic connection with its listener, I think JT is able to do that. He sings (well), dances (well), and knows how to poke fun of himself. There really is nothing to hate on him about. That's all I've got to say. :)
 
December 16, 2008
Kudos to you for being a guy who's not afraid to proclaim his like for JT! And I love how you refer to the King of Pop as "Michael 'Am I White Yet?' Jackson" as well.
 
December 16, 2008
Michael "Am I White YEt?" Jackson.. AHAHAHHAAHAH!! hilarious.....but I totally agree.. I felt really teeny bopper liking him after his N Sync days.... but I'm over it now.. He deserves to be loved!!! That boy can DANCE!
 
1
More Justin Timberlake reviews
Quick Tip by . December 22, 2012
i love him so much because he is my best musian i love him so much because he is my best musiani love him so much because he is my best musiani love him so much because he is my best musiani love him so much because he is my best musiani love him so much because he is my best musiani love him so much because he is my best musian
Quick Tip by . January 04, 2012
posted in Awesomeness
I was wrong about this guy. He came onto the scene in a freaking boy band, and that is always going to be a point against him. But he proved to be a great innovator in pop music, as well as a very good actor.
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
Who is this guy? People actually listen to this stuff? Gimme a break.
Quick Tip by . August 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
The perfect music set to perfect sunset weather for a perfect L.A. drive. ;D
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
I watched his Future Sex/Love Sounds HBO show a million times.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Are you serious?
Quick Tip by . May 31, 2010
Fun to listen & to watch
review by . April 18, 2008
One spin of FutureSex/LoveSounds and it's hard to believe that Justin Timberlake was ever a boy-band barnstormer--no modern-day male artist beats him when it comes to single-minded self assurance or suavity. "SexyBack," the inescapable summer sizzler of a first single off this short and thrillingly unwholesome disc, makes that clear on its own: If there was ever any question about whether sexy was in need of reviving--a doubtful proposition at best, given the sheer volume of JT's gyrating counterparts--he …
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
@angelodignacio I completely disagree w/you- I only started liking Justin when he became a solo artist & learned that he beatboxed,bboyed...
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Awesome singer, though I liked him better with N'sync than I did as a solo artist.
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #296
Member Since: Dec 14, 2008
Last Login: Apr 30, 2009 02:01 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
The_New_Aesthetic
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this celebrity

Wiki

Justin Randal Timberlake was born the son of Lynn Harless and Randy Timberlake in Memphis Tennessee on January 31, 1981. As a child, Justin appeared on the show Star Search and also joined the cast of The Mickey Mouse Club. At 14, Justin became a member of the famous boy band, NSYNC who release their first self-titled debut album in 1998. The band went on to win the hearts of America with a succession of bestselling albums. In 2002, Justin released his debut solo album, Justified, which sold more than 7 million copies worldwide (songs included "Like I Love You", "Cry Me A River" and "Rock Your Body"). His second solo release, Future Sex/Love Sounds, was released in 2006 and included U.S. number-one hit single like "Sexy Back" and "My Love". Today, Justin has a wide range of titles including an American pop-singer, songwriter, record producer, dancer and actor, with 6 Grammy Awards and one Emmy Award. His other successes include record label Tennman Records, fashion label William Rast and Restaurants, Destino and Southern Hospitality.

view wiki

Details

Nationality: American
Birth Date: January 31, 1981
Gender: Male
Height: 73 inches
Polls with this celebrity
Angelina Jolie

Sexiest Celebrities

by

First to Review

"I love JC"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists