|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cities » Reviews » Austin, Texas » User review

AUSTIN

The capital city of the U.S. state of Texas.

< read all 3 reviews

A perfectly balanced city

  • Jan 21, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
I've been contemplating moving back to Texas recently due to the truly dismal job market, astronomical taxes and impossible cost of living in California. I calculated that if I live to be 200, I might be able to afford a studio apartment in Marin one day, or I could just move to Austin and do it tomorrow. Despite being in the capital of Texas, Austin has more in common with Seattle than its neighbors like San Antonio and Houston. It's like a version of San Francisco with decent weather, a functioning city government and cheap parking.

Apart from genuinely being the Live Music capital of the world, Austin seems to strike a really effective "work-life balance", as HR departments like to call it. There are hundreds of great restaurants, bars, cafes and places to hang out, together with a steady stream of festivals and events. Every time I visit there seems to be more being developed all the time. Just outside the city, the lake really makes a great place to relax - you can be there in no time and rent a boat for a couple of hours. 

The people are friendly, there's no state income tax and the place has a mellow pleasant rhythm that appeals to me as I get firmly into my 30s. I can see myself in a nice little house on the lake with a cup of coffee in one hand, reading the paper in the other, getting a gentle suntan and not wondering how a one-bed studio on Van Ness can cost $700,000. Damn, I'm close to pulling the trigger on this one. And did I mention it has the best Whole Foods in the world right here? I used to fantasize about being locked in a Barnes & Noble for a month to catch up on my reading, but Whole Foods beats it hands down. Austin just has it all.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
April 01, 2012
Remember the rule in real estate. The rule is location, location, location. Nebraska is also a low tax state with low unemployment .
 
June 21, 2010
Sounds very appealing. I guess lots of folks will be fleeing California. You can't blame them. Although I have absolutely no interest in going to Texas for any reason Austin and San Antonio do intrigue me. Go ahead, make my day and pull the trigger!
 
February 02, 2010
I have never been to Texas but you make it sound Nice and very mice place to work at. Thanks
 
January 22, 2010
If you move to Austin, I'll probably 'need' to move to Bangkok! ;-)
 
January 22, 2010
Austin is the top dating city in the USA, per this website: http://www.bestplaces.net/docs/studies/DatingCities.aspx
 
January 22, 2010
If I got the hell out of Dodge (CA), I would check out Seattle. I don't mind a little rain. :0
January 22, 2010
Never been to Seattle... one of the major reasons for coming to Austin is also that both our families live in San Antonio, so it's nice and close. One of my best friends says the best cities in the country are Seattle, Houston and Austin, so I'm intrigued.

Plus, as for the rain, I'm English so I barely notice it's wet in the deep end of a swimming pool.
January 22, 2010
I wrote a review of Seattle about a year ago. It's very short and I do need to add to it. The photos posted are ones I've taken myself. I've spent a couple of weekends there. Plan to return on Easter. http://lunch.com/t/u1h
January 22, 2010
Ha, James, I think the rain in Seattle is a lot more than just "a little rain" ;-) Seattle is not cheap either, Silicon Valley just around the corner. With all those IT companies there; can't be cheap. But I guess there are lots of litigation so you won't be out of jobs ;-)
January 22, 2010
Can't beat England for rain... I'm conditioned after 20 years to the point where nothing short of a rainforest would make me flinch. :-)
 
January 21, 2010
I've heard nothing but good things about Austin, so I definitely need to visit it someday.  I hear it's the closest that I'll find to a place like Berkeley or Santa Cruz in Texas.  And what's so great about this Austin Whole Foods you speak of? :P
January 21, 2010
It's strange how small it is, yet it's not really like the rest of Texas at all - it just magically appeared there. I just went to the Whole Foods, which about a half the size of Austin itself. It sells everything, it's got the biggest range of every product WF sells, and there are food court-style eateries all around. It's an experience - it's also their flagship store, so I guess they're showing off. :-)
January 22, 2010
That's what I've heard about Austin! And now I'm super curious about that Whole Foods. I went to one in Napa that I thought was gigantic, but I don't think there were food courts there.  I was most impressed that they sold Kombucha by the case load.  You know I love me some food! :D
 
1
More Austin, Texas reviews
Quick Tip by . December 07, 2009
Austin is great! I've only been here a year, but I'm continually surprised at the amount of health-conscious and unique characters I see.
review by . March 04, 2009
SRV statue
I have lived here since 1989 and I love this city.  It really caters to the young and the young at heart!  People are super-friendly and everyone likes to have fun in this city.  There are tons of cool restaurants, bars, pubs, clubs, cafes, parks, trails, swimming holes, lakes and oh yeah... we also have the state capitol here and the University of Texas!  We are not only the capital of Texas, but we are also the festival capital of the world I do believe!!  The two big festivals of course are SXSW …
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this city

Wiki

Austin is the capital of the U.S. state of Texas and the seat of Travis County. Located in Central Texas on the eastern edge of the American Southwest, it is the fourth-largest city in Texas and the 15th-largest in the United States. It was the third-fastest-growing large city in the nation from 2000 to 2006. According to the 2009 U.S. Census estimate, Austin had a population of 757,688. The city is the cultural and economic center of the Austin–Round Rock–San Marcos metropolitan area, with a population of 1.7 million as of the July 2008 U.S. Census estimate, making it the 36th-largest metropolitan area in the United States.

The area was settled in the 1830s on the banks of the Colorado River by pioneers who named the village Waterloo. In 1839, Waterloo was chosen to become the capital of the newly independent Republic of Texas. The city was renamed after Stephen F. Austin, known as the father of Texas. The city grew throughout the 19th century and became a center for government and education with the construction of the Texas State Capitol and the University of Texas. After a lull in growth from the Great Depression, Austin resumed its development into a major city and emerged as a center for technology and business. Today, Austin is home to many companies, high-tech and otherwise, including the headquarters of three Fortune 500 corporations, Dell, Whole Foods Market, and Freescale Semiconductor.

Austin was selected as the No. 2 Best Big City in "Best ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists