|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » Apple Store » User review

An electronic retail store

< read all 4 reviews

An old man's thoughts on the Apple Store

  • Mar 2, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+2
Well, to start off; they all seem to like they took over an old space in the mall occupied by American Eagle. Same pseudo hardwood floors, same smell of more money than you will ever have floating through the air, same disinterested employees.

Ye walk in to the cacophany of sound (they always have the iPods right up front) as teenagers scream at each other to be heard over the blasting music on the earbuds they are listening to. Ye are immediately assaulted by a t-shirt wearing "professional" who has sized you up as not really worth their time, who asks, "Have you ever been here before?" No. That's why I'm there NOW. Ye walk past the 6 or so computers they have out on display (why do they have so much room but very little product on the floor?). Ye get accosted by 3 more t-shirted "professionals" asking the same question. If ye actually have a question, more often than not they can't answer it. Especially if it involves something else working WITH the Mac you're looking at.

So, ye make use of the knowledge they don't ever consider that ye have (I'm an old man, remember?) and change all of the alert messages to something profanity laden and leave the store.

Apple makes great products but has no concept of how to run a store. Buy your Apple product at MacMall.Com, BestBuy, or even order it from Apple.Com; but under no circumstances, do ye purchase from the pimply faced, t-shirted "professional" that is absolutely certain ye haven't even an idea how to turn the damned thing on.

Long story short, the Apple store is a viable alternative to holding your wife's purse as she looks at shoes; but other than demonstrating at the latest Apple products, it serves no purpose.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
March 02, 2011
Hilarious review, Sir Gun! But sad. I've only ever shopped at their store once. Other times, I've just purchased directly from their website. I had my one good experience there, but that's likely because I walked in knowing exactly what I wanted with the intention of buying it that day, and I did. It's unfortunate to hear that people who are browsing and such have had such poor experiences. Thanks for sharing! I hope to hear about your Apple experiences at other retailers!
March 04, 2011
MacMall.Com was great! I ordered some more ram (RAM) for my eMac and, being an old man, as soon as I received it I called and said, "Okay, how do I install this?" The extremely patient rep walked (talked) me through the whole process, stayed on the phone with me, and even waited while I went and got a screwdriver. I heartily recommend them.
March 04, 2011
Wow, that's awesome! Thank goodness I've never needed to consult Apple for anything. So far when I've had issues, I Googled it and was luckily able to find answers. I've heard about not-so-great stories from some of my friends having to set up an appointment at the Genius Bar. Thanks for the recommendation of MacMall!
March 05, 2011
Any time!
 
1
More Apple Store reviews
review by . December 11, 2009
I like the Apple store. When most of their products were just becoming popular, my friends and I would walk in there and play with all the gadgets and computers. I was always pretty amazed at how much they would let you use everything as if it were yours.        I did some holiday shopping for the first time at the Apple store and picked up some gifts for the family, while my girlfriend got a Macbook pro for her brother. All in all, it was both our first time actually buying …
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in MBlocal
that's a great tip Malcomb! Totally forgot about it. Even if you are small, you can still get it. I need to do it.
About the reviewer
Gun. ()
Ranked #449
I am not a nice man.   I am an honest man, but I make no claims towards being nice.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Gun665
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this corporation

Wiki

The Apple Store is a chain of retail stores owned and operated by Apple Inc., dealing in computers and consumer electronics. As of December 2009, Apple has opened 283 stores; 221 in 41 US states, 25 in the United Kingdom (21 in England, two in Scotland, one in Northern Ireland and one in Wales), 14 in Canada, 7 in Japan, 6 in Australia, 3 in Switzerland, 2 in Germany, Italy and France, and 1 in China.

The stores, designed by San Francisco based design firm Eight Inc., sell Apple Macintosh personal computers and software, iPods, iPhones, third-party accessories, and other consumer electronics such as the Apple TV. Many stores feature a theatre for presentations and workshops, the Studio for training with Apple products, and all stores offer a Genius Bar for technical support and repairs, as well as free workshops available to the public.

On May 15, 2001 Steve Jobs led a group of journalists from a hotel in Tysons Corner, Virginia to Apple's first store in the second level of Tysons Corner Center for a commemorative press event. The first two Apple Stores opened on May 19 in Tysons Corner and later the same day in Glendale, California at Glendale Galleria. The first Apple Store with the current layout and hardware (wood tables and stone flooring) opened in Pasadena, California. Apple opened its 200th store on October 26, 2007 in Gilbert, Arizona, 2,251 days after opening its Tysons Corner store. Many stores are located inside shopping malls, but Apple has since built ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists