|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Retail Stores » Reviews » Barnes and Noble » User review

Looking to escape in a book and nice comfy chair, but your place of stay doesnt accomodate?

  • Jan 6, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Barnes and Noble, a massive bookstore to end all bookstores that offers pretty much any endeavor in any book your are looking for at any given whim, but it also serves as a place away from home to escape too that most people practice but don't recognize, me being one of them.

If I move to a new place, the first thing I look for after food and the apartment/house is a Barnes and Noble. Want to know why? Because if I am bored one day or feel like getting away from anything going on in my life, instead of staying at home, driving or whatever should meet your fanciful query at that given moment, I like to delve into a nice chair with a book and atmosphere in Barnes and Noble. Most of the libraries that I could go to are either too crowded, too old and not kept up, or noisy ( I know funny isn't it?), but Barnes and Noble has a sort of eloquent ruminating quality in its stores that just feeds my calmness and musing more than anything. I find myself getting a nice smoothie from Jamba Juice, and strolling through the books, looking at what subject might interest me that day, finding a nice place to sit (sometimes the floor) and read/learn while the minutes float away. I like how Barnes and Noble, versus a traditional library, houses people that are inherently on the move, meaning they are there looking for something to buy more often than not rather than lingering around like in a library. I find this more soothing and a better environment to concentrate and drift away in.

So instead of just a megastore, Barnes and Noble can serve as a place to relax and enjoy a nice quiet day in that couldn't be found in your home.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
March 06, 2009
I too couldn't think of many better ways to spend a lazy day. I seem to enter some sort of time warp when I enter Barnes & Noble. I grab a hot Starbucks (in most stores) and just linger away.
 
January 08, 2009
I don't know why I even put "comfy" chair, because I have yet to get one. They are always taken up by couples or something. I always seem to get dibs on the roller bucket, you know the ones the workers use to roll on while putting back books? so much for comfy... although it's nice to hear you guys have a better time there haha.
 
January 08, 2009
This is exactly the reason why I love bookstores. it's spot on! strolling around and even plopping down on the floor and reading books...I know this sounds loser-ish but sometimes I'd rather do that than go out... It's too bad barnes & noble isnt open to 2am hahah
 
January 08, 2009
Their big fluffy chairs suck you in! I love Barnes & Nobles, and am so glad they're doing better than Borders these days.
 
1
More Barnes and Noble reviews
Quick Tip by . December 13, 2011
I never did care much for Barnes & Noble. I just did like the layout of the store. Ever since Borders went out of business B & N has been sending me e-mails with coupons urging me to give them a try. Finally went last Saturday to purchase a gift card for someone on my list. I promptly discovered that they have removed all the music and movies from the store. I guess you can still buy this stuff on the Barnes & Noble website but it will probably be a long time before i venture into a B & N again. …
Quick Tip by . November 19, 2009
I love shopping in their store but have taken to shopping online recently with their 50% off deal on Criterion films.
review by . December 19, 2008
logo
I am an avid reader, and I haven't been to the public library in years. The reason? Barnes & Noble. While my home town just recently acquired their very own B & N about two years ago, I used to travel to Omaha, over an hour away, to get my books. I could spend countless hours, (as well as countless dollars) in this store, and still want to come back the next day and look some more.    There is something for everybody at this place! I've taken my children to …
About the reviewer
Sean Marrone ()
Ranked #346
Well, I'll just say this. I never let anopportunitypass me by, and I never vacillate at a chance to act spontaneously.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Rainy_Sunday
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this corporation

Wiki

Barnes & Noble, Inc. (NYSE: BKS) is the largest book retailer in the United States,[4][5] operating mainly through its Barnes & Noble Booksellers chain of bookstores headquartered at 122 Fifth Avenue in the Flatiron District in Manhattan in New York City.[6] Barnes & Noble also operated the chain of small B. Dalton Booksellers stores in malls until they announced the liquidation of the chain. The company is known for large, upscale retail outlets, many of which contain a café serving Starbucks Coffee, and for competitive discounting of bestsellers. Most stores also sell magazines, newspapers, DVDs, graphic novels, gifts, games, and music. Video games and related items were sold in the company's GameStop retail outlets until October 2004, when the division was spun off into an independent company. Barnes & Noble is also known for selling the Barnes & Noble Nook, as well as various incarnations of its mascot, a teddy bear named "Barnsie".

The company operates 717 stores (as of October 30, 2010) in all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia in addition to 637 college bookstores, which serve nearly 4 million students and 250,000 faculty members across the country.[7]

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Book fan's heaven!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists