|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Travel » Reviews » Continental Airlines » User review

Not good... but most are worse

  • Aug 10, 2010
Rating:
+2
I used to love to travel. I enjoyed walking around the airport looking at all of the exotic locations where people were traveling. I would then board my flight, enjoy my bag of peanuts and coca-cola while zipping off to my locations.

Then they made air-travel a nightmare. Regional jets.... paying for luggage.... no peanuts.... security.... mean flight attendents .... you name the misfortune and I have experienced it on a flight. 

Continental Airlines was (and to some extent still is) better than the rest. The planes were comfortable, the flight attendents were nice and the people were helpful.

The run-down

- They are the king of the regional jet
- $25 for your first checked bag
- They are still reasonably friendly
- They will feed you!
- As reliable as anyone in the industry


 So while they aren't quite as good as they once (early 2000's) were they are still better than most (USAirways and Delta).

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
November 08, 2010
I agree with @devora. I haven't taken Continental in a while and really enjoy Virgin America. My second budget choice is Southwest, they give you free checked bags and peanuts!
 
August 12, 2010
Thanks for your contribution to the Up, Up & Away community! Hope to hear more about your travels too!
 
August 12, 2010
Most of American domestic airlines aren't that great. It's better to fly international ;-) Welcome to the community & hopefully one day we can welcome you to Asia as well! :-)
 
August 11, 2010
I still love traveling, but I totally share your sentiments in the changes that have been going on in the airline industry.  I fly Continental only when I absolutely have to.  Fortunately for me, I live in the San Francisco Bay Area and travel to a lot of Virgin America destinations and they are amazing.  Hopefully, they'll branch out to more cities! :)
 
August 11, 2010
For long hopes I would use them, but for short stuff I prefer to pay less and suffer a bit more. ::sigh::
 
August 10, 2010
If I had my choice I would typically fly Continental. The problem is that they used to be sooooo much better!
August 12, 2010
Funny, I just came across this article. I thought it worth sharing: http://www.salon.com/news/air_travel/index.html?story=/mwt/feature/2010/08/11/i_was_a_flight_attendant
 
August 10, 2010
I've had a good experience with them in the past as well! This was about 6 years ago, but still. My flight was canceled and they made arrangements to put me on the next one with a first class upgrade at no extra charge. :)  But I have to agree with you that travel has become a sort of nightmare. I haven't flown anywhere since 2007, but I hear stories from my friends and family all the time and it makes me think that it's not so bad we're sticking with road trips!
 
1
More Continental Airlines reviews
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
airplanes are new. They have lots of 737s.
About the reviewer

Ranked #220
At one time, I may have been the world's biggest baseball fan. However, now that I have a family I amin danger of falling out of the top 100. In addition to my beautiful wife and lovely daughter (and … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KevinE
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this corporation

Wiki

Continental Airlines is a major American airline based and headquartered in Continental Center I in Downtown Houston, Texas. It is the fourth-largest airline in the US based on revenue passenger miles. Continental operates flights to destinations throughout the U.S., Canada, Latin America, Europe, and the Asia-Pacific regions. Principal operations are from its three hubs at Newark Liberty International Airport, George Bush Intercontinental Airport, and Cleveland Hopkins International Airport.

The origin of Continental Airlines dates to the 1934 formation of Varney Speed Lines, which operated airmail and passenger services in the American Southwest. The carrier was renamed Continental Air Lines in 1937, and expanded its domestic U.S. network in the 1960s with jet aircraft. International flights to Southeast Asia and South Pacific destinations began in 1978 following industry deregulation. Continental was embroiled in ownership struggles in the 1980s, and entered bankruptcy in 1983 and 1990. The carrier exhibited a financial and operational turnaround after 1996, and embarked on international route expansion in the 2000s.

Continental has ownership interests and brand partnerships with several carriers. Continental Micronesia, a wholly owned subsidiary, operates routes around Micronesia from its hub at Antonio B. Won Pat International Airport in Guam and connects the Micronesian region with destinations in East Asia, Southeast Asia, Honolulu and Cairns, Australia. Continental ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this corporation
Alaska Airlines

Best Domestic (U.S.) Airlines

by

Air Canada

Best International Airlines

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists