|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sports » Reviews » 2010 FIFA World Cup » User review

2010 FIFA World Cup

The 19th premier international soccer tournament to be held between June 11 to July 11, 2010.

< read all 9 reviews

In memory of a friend

  • Jul 8, 2010
Rating:
+2
My friend Ivan Jimenez will be extremely happy about this World Cup. Afterall, Spain is in the final! My last and also first World Cup attendance was in Germany, ie. The 2006 World Cup. I didn’t really visit Germany for the World Cup, I was hardly a fan. I just happened to be there. I was in Berlin, Hamburg and Luebeck during my summer vacation. The festive mood in Berlin & Hamburg was simply incredible; everywhere you see men (hot blooded ones too)! Lots of foreigners, tourists, merry makers and football fans! One can't help but feel men & football!


 
Well, it’s football to me. Although many calls it soccer in the U.S. Whatever the name is, you can’t deny its attractions to millions of people, especially men. I never could get it though… I enjoyed watching basketball and possibly even baseball. But, football?! Well, it is one sport that literally tests my patience (I do admit, I’ve little of it, better as I aged, but still limited ;-)). I mean, look, men of all ages running across a field for a goal and sometimes only one goal after an entire hour of running? That’s madness as far as I’m concerned, LOL…. Afterall, it did take both the finalist, Spain & Netherlands, more than an hour before they both score a goal in their respective matches to get to the final! Speaking of which, who do you think will win the World Cup? I was not watching even a single game nor am I rooting for anyone, but my intuition tells me Spain might just win it! ;-) I wonder which team did the Octopus pick? You know, there is a psychic octopus which picks the right team every single match! 100% accuracy. Clearly, I'm no Paul but I do believe even Paul chose Spain! ;-)




 
In any case, it’s a man’s sport and I think it reflects how competitive men are. I was just having a discussion with my sis about how different men are from women generally. And I think it is most prevalent in this game. For one though, if you’d like to know lots of men, I can attest that going to the World Cup is the way to do it! You literally meet dozens of men each day and they are from different countries, races and ages too! Nowhere can you feel a man’s presence as much as the World Cup. That’s what I experienced most from a World Cup trip! :-D
 
Personally though, the World Cup 2006 was a time when I was feeling sad rather than exuberance. It was on June 2 (just barely after my arrival in Berlin) that I found out my good friend Armando from Portugal whom I met 2 years before when in Sintra had passed away. It was a work accident, they said. He was an archaeologist and he was not even 40! Hence, for the entire month in June 2006, I was literally in mourning :-( and now 4 years later, the World Cup is in full swing again. For some reason, I’ll always associate Armando with World Cup. It is certainly not a pleasant memory for me! As for Armando, he will always be someone I miss all through the years!

In memory of a friend In memory of a friend

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
July 12, 2010
Sorry to hear about your friend, Sharrie. :(
 
July 12, 2010
I'm sorry to hear about your friend. This is a very touching tribute and I'm glad you found a unique way to remember him :) And it looks like OctoPaul was right!
July 14, 2010
Yep, that was unfortunate and part of life... OctoPaul is a celebrity now :-)
 
1
More 2010 FIFA World Cup reviews
review by . December 04, 2009
I was really excited about successfully picking Italy to win it all last time, and for largely the correct reasons (solid defense plus superb metronome midfielder/set piece taker in Andrea Pirlo). But I'm really torn about this one.      Predicting the World Cup is usually quite difficult, but there are almost always a few rules that work:      1. Repeat champions are extremely rare. Too much pressure, probably.      2. The host nation …
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
I'm a soccer newbie, but being introduced to The Beautiful Game via the 2010 World Cup is about as good as it gets. I can't believe I've been missing out on this insanity every four years! Now I have something to look forward to when the Olympics are on downtime; better late than never! Between losing sleep to watch the early AM games, the vuvuzela madness & buying my own ball to kick around, World Cup fever has definitely struck me hard. I just wish the teams I rooted for were still in the Cup!
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Watching the World Cup with dad, prepping for the Lake Show! More sports in 1 day than I have watched in years. Viva Mexico! Mexico 2 - France 0 <-- Final #WC #FIFA
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Feared African killer bees as a child, but had no idea how bad the problem was until I listened to the World Cup. Is it even safe to play?
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Some of the games have been a lot of fun but I'd love to smash those stupid horns making that constant bee noise!
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2009
Somewhat interesting draw with a few huge games, but a little light on overall drama. Brazil-Portugal and England-USA should be great!
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2009
Let's go you Yanks!!!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the 19th FIFA World Cup, the premier international football tournament. It is scheduled to take place between 11 June and 11 July 2010 in South Africa. The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the culmination of a qualification process that began in August 2007 and involved 204 of the 208 FIFA national teams. As such, it matches the 2008 Summer Olympics as the sports event with the most competing nations.

This will be the first time that the tournament has been hosted by an African nation, after South Africa beat Morocco and Egypt in an all-African bidding process. Italy are the defending champions. The draw for the finals took place on 4 December 2009 in Cape Town.
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Predictions?"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists