|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » 2010 Health Care Reform Bill » User review

2010 Health Care Reform Bill

A controversial health care bill that the Senate passed on March 21, 2010.

< read all 7 reviews

The ends never justify the means.

  • Mar 22, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-4
So there you have it.  President Obama, Nancy Pelosi, Harry Reid and the rest of the Democrats have gotten their way. The 2700 page 2010 Health Care Reform Care bill will become law.  Had the Democrats played by the rules and managed to get this legislation passed I would have been upset but I could have lived with it. That is the American way!  But as we have come to discover all too often over the years Democrats rarely play by the rules. These ideologues will do just about anything to get what they want.  They care not one iota what the majority of Americans think about anything.  And the scariest part is that they are just getting started.  Immigration reform a/k/a amnesty for "illegal" aliens is next on the menu.  Much of their wildly left-wing agenda is anathema to the vast majority of the American people.  Whatever policy initiatives they cannot pass by legitimate means they ram through by means of executive order or with the aid of their compadres in the federal courts (the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals immediately comes to mind).  Democracy be damned! 

To begin with, anyone with even a smidgeon of common sense knows instinctively that any legislation that insures an addtional 30 million people is certainly not going to be revenue neutral. Taxes are going to have to rise substantially.  You can tinker with the numbers all you want but you simply cannot get around that  reality. The fact is that all of us are going to be making ten years of payments for just six years of coverage.  Secondly, the notion that there will not be substantial rationing of health care in this country is ludicrous.  Have you visited a VA hospital lately?  And despite numerous statements to the contrary you can bet that taxpayer-funded abortions will be part of the plans as well.  In addition, this health care reform package does absolutely nothing to address the issue of tort reform.  I am sure that the ambulance chasers in the American Trial Lawyers Association are ecstatic about that!  These people are one of the main reasons that health care costs continue to escalate at such a phenomenal rate but this group is yet another group being protected by their buddies in the Democratic party. 

Still there are other reasons to be leery about the consequences of passing the 2010 Health Care Reform Bill.  Low reimbursement rates for Medicare and Medicaid will continue to wreak havoc with hospitals and doctors alike.  Many doctors many choose to give up their practices altogether while young people considering the medical profession may come to the conclusion that they will no longer be able to make a decent living.  Remember that most medical school graduates have to borrow around $250,000 just to pay for their schooling.  It is also worth noting that about half of all growth in health care spending in the U.S. in the past several decades has been associated with changes in medical care made possible by advances in technology.  The free market system has encouraged R&D and innovation.  To illustrate we currently spend three times more per capita on medical innovations than Europe does.  My great fear is that this new legislation will remove the incentives for private industry to develop new life-saving drugs and technologies.  It is a very scary prospect!
 
In 2006, the U.S. Census Bureau awarded a $595 million contract to Harris Corp. to develop more than 525,000 handheld computers that enumerators would use to collect data from Americans who did not send in their census forms in 2010.  Sounds like a reasonable idea.  However, there were substantial problems from the start.  The U.S. government wound up pouring an additional two billions dollars into the project in an effort to make this technology work. Guess what?  Census workers will be visiting homes armed with nothing more that paper forms and pens. This technology was a complete bust.  Nearly $3,000,000,000 (three billion) dollars of taxpayer money down the drain.  I fear that this is precisely what is going to happen when the government sticks its nose into health care. And while the Obama administration does not have a single-payer system yet we all know that this is their ultimate goal. Indeed, this is a very sad day for America! 
The ends never justify the means. The ends never justify the means. The ends never justify the means. The ends never justify the means.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
August 12, 2010
I totally concur. I am 52 and a retired army officer and I feel terrible about the fact that this is the first time in my life that I truely beleive the best years of Aerica are behind us, not in front of us. Pax Americana is on the wane. The future is with BRIC's Brazil, Russia, India, and China.
 
July 03, 2010
This was a great read! Your bolded words acted like bullet points for me, making it much easier to follow... ;P What really hit your review home for me personally was that I've been visited three times in the past weeks by census workers to answer questions about our household and those of my neighbors around me. They all had clipboards. Now that the bill has been passed, I suppose the most we can hope for is that it stays within budget. If we have to pay billions more in taxes for another clipboard fiasco, I'll have lost much more faith in our government's legislative procedures. =X
 
April 12, 2010
I couldn't disagree more with your perspective. There's no denying that this may have been the wrong time to introduce this Bill, but it simply had to happen. Whenever the capitalist free market type argument is brought up I am automatically sickened. Anybody can do number crunching, but I find it difficult to ponder exactly how so many people can justify putting a price on the heads of citizens' health.

I feel I have to also put across my perspective on the argument of playing by the rules and the supposed idea that the Democrats and only the Democrats do not care about the opinions of the American people. What about the opinions of the American people who wanted, no, needed this legislation to be passed so they could get health care coverage? That was an argument thrown about by the right wing crazies is that the American people "don't want this". Yet, the official statistics say otherwise as a Gallup poll conducted the day after the passing of the bill 49% felt it was a good thing whereas 40% felt it was bad with 11% having no opinion. Going back to 2009 77% of Americans felt there should be a choice between a public and a private option. So the argument that the American people did not want it is a simple lie.

Sure, a lot of people didn't feel it was a good thing for whatever silly reason they had been told to not like this bill by Glenn Beck, Fox News and the scare mongering Republican children, but the fact is, a lot more Americans were in favour of this and it's really a step in the right direction.
 
March 28, 2010
I don't understand politics, much less the American politics. But I understand economics and America cannot afford it. It's a messy situation you guys are dealing with!
 
March 23, 2010
Two things are sure in life - death and taxes - and both are being delivered as quickly as possible by the Federal Government! Wait until the final bill comes in... it's going to be a big, big number. But don't worry since none of us can't afford the existing debt anyway!
March 23, 2010
Truer words were never spoken. Now if only I could find a way to thwart death itself... ;) Taxes...I guess I can live with some of that. :-P
March 23, 2010
When I escaped England the taxes were running at 40% Federal, 6% Social Security, 17.5% sales tax.... it's following me here, holy hell! :-)
March 23, 2010
LOL! Unfortunately, taxes will follow you to practically any capitalist, democratic style nation/government. They should cut taxes in areas/programs that don't need as much...but then you run the argument of who decides which programs need what amounts. It's such a conundrum!

On another note, how long did you live in England? My older sister spent 4+ years there (can't remember an exact number). I never did get a chance to visit her! I could never afford the cost of the trip. :-P
March 23, 2010
I grew up there, so it was 25 years' hard labor. I've been here for 10 years and went back for the first time last year - and I could barely afford it. Stayed with my brother and dropped $1500 in two weeks on coffee, sandwiches, etc. - unbelievable. It was nice to be back as a tourist though - I got to see all the museums and sights... here's my album: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?id=719462422&aid=92137 (if you can't see it, friend me)!
March 24, 2010
Nice photos! I'm sending you a friend request either way. :) Geez...lucky you had a brother to stay with! I can't imagine spending money like that. lol! Maybe someday. I'm sure visiting a country as a tourist is more fun than living there. Plus, it brings back fond memories of your time there, or things maybe you never made enough time for. I hope to make a trip there someday with my sister. I'm waiting until I'm settled down with school and stuff first.
March 24, 2010
Thanks! It's a really, *really* strange feeling to be a tourist in a country you grew up in, but it was certainly a different perspective. I should write a review... It was great to meet up with old school and college friends and just enjoy the place, but the ATM bills were scary when I got home!
March 24, 2010
Yeah, I can't even imagine how that would feel! I'm sure it would make a great review, though! I love viewing the world through different perspectives. Yeah, sounds like the bills were high! However, what a wonderful thing to spend your money on! You got to see old school friends, spend time with your brother, and enjoy yourself! Might as well indulge a little while you're young. :)
 
March 23, 2010
I think speculating on immigration reform and tax-paid state funded abortions adds nothing to the discussion of the bill itself. It also takes the purpose of the bill out of context.
 
March 23, 2010
Those heavy loans for doctors may not be as much of an issue. I have a sneaking suspicion you will be lucky to get in to see a P.A. in a few years as Doctor's bail on this horrid plan.

An opportunity to seek true bi-partisan reform was shunned for this political piece of Socialism. When Reagan was President, he sat Tip O'Neill down with the Republicans and laid out his agenda for reform. Then let them hammer things out bi-laterally. Nancy came in with a swelled head from the election returns and figured she could shove her liberal agenda down our throats. She did. It doesn't taste like defeat...because we are all Americans. We sink or swim together. It tastes like the far left has hijacked our Government and we are going to have hell to pay to get it back to the middle.
 
1
More 2010 Health Care Reform Bill reviews
review by . March 28, 2010
posted in Business Matters
Bailing out & falling short big time!
Helping others is morally good. However, when a government which is broke or on the verge of bankruptcy goes beyond and put every part of its country deeper into debt, that's totally insanity and dangerous. The U.S. is on its way to 'solve' its problems by simply printing money and pumping money that was otherwise not there to begin with? Not to mention the interest it has to pay for its sovereign debt? I don't get it! It's a no way out situation at all. What does the Obama administration …
review by . December 13, 2010
posted in Big Government
There has been a lot of false advertising about this bill.  This is an attempt to cut through a lot of this and give to the best of my ability a fair review of the changes of law.      The major issues the health care reform laws were intended to tackle were the rising cost of care and rising health insurance rates.  I can tell you my family has been without health insurance for over a year because the rates were suddenly raised on us 50% from one year to the next.  …
review by . March 22, 2010
Although I have been watching today's events like a freight train running toward a brick wall, the finality of the vote still leaves me speechless.  For the first time in my lifetime, I have witnessed the most divisive partisan legislation pass the final hurdle towards law.  A 2700-page bill rife with backroom deals and pork that will cost taxpayers an admitted 600 Billion dollars, will require young people who do not have insurance to purchase it themselves and will ultimately experience …
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Personally, what started out as an initial opinion of excited promise has since turned into a much less hopeful one. Reading up on different perspectives has revealed more cons over pros than I first thought existed. Maybe we didn't need this one after all. I'm hoping I'm wrong.
Quick Tip by . March 27, 2010
It is immoral for those of us who have health insurance to deny it to others. Scare tactics should not prevail.
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (H.R. 3590) was signed into law by President Barack Obama on March 23, 2010. Along with the Health Care and Education Affordability Reconciliation Act of 2010, the act is a product of the health care reform agenda of the Democratic-controlled Congress and the Obama administration.

The bill was originally drafted by the U.S. Senate as an alternative to the Affordable Health Care for America Act, which was passed by the U.S. House of Representatives two months earlier on November 7. However, after the Democrats lost their supermajority in the Senate on January 19, 2010, the House decided to pass the Senate version and amend it with a third bill. This will allow the Senate to pass the amendments via the simple-majority reconciliation process.

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act passed the Senate on December 24, 2009, by a vote of 60–39 and passed the House on March 21, 2010, by a vote of 219–212, with no Republicans in either house voting for the bill. At the time of the vote, there were 4 vacancies in the United States House of Representatives.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists